Skip to main content

Cell Biology & Anatomy Resources: Research Databases

This guide will help you locate and use cell biology information resources from the NYMC Library and beyond.

Access Medicine

AccessMedicine is a website that provides access to a variety of full-text resources. The collection is divided into multiple sections:

Readings: The clinical library includes the full-text of more than 85 textbooks. The LANGE educational series consists of basic science texts and clinical medicine texts. Many of these online texts are equivalent to their print counterparts; Harrison’s includes additional features not found in the print (look for the e-chapter logo). Harrison's and Hurst’s The Heart, include updated material that can be accessed by clicking on the Textbook Updates in the Features menu of each textbook. Harrison’s also has a section called Grand Rounds, consisting of audio slide lectures.
Quick Reference: Includes Quick DX and RX; Guidelines; Algorythms; DDX; Diagnostic Tests; and Calculators
Drugs: Includes Generics, Trade Names, Drug Classes, and Patient Handouts
Multimedia: Includes Videos by Category; Videos by System; Musculoskeletal Exams; Patient 
Safety Modules: Grand Rouns; and Images
Cases: Contains Case Files; Pathophysiology Cases; and Hurst's Imaging Cases
Self-Assessment: Includes
Clinincal Library and Lange Educational Library
Custom Curriculum: Requires registration
Patient Ed: Provides patient education handouts for Acute Advisor, Medicines Advisor, and Pediatric Advisor

CINAHL

The Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature CINAHL is a comprehensive database focused on allied health professions. There is some overlap with PubMed, But CINAHL is a robust database with powerful search features and significant holdings that are not indexed in PubMed.

Citations and abstracts for literature of nursing and allied health. Also includes full-text from selected journals, legal cases, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials, and more

CINAHL is the major database of nursing and allied health information. There are multiple ways to search for research instruments in CINAHL. The most appropriate for you depends on what you want to know. When searching by the name of a research instrument, it is often most effective to use a unique term or phrase from the name of the instrument, instead of the exact name.

Clinical Key

The Health Sciences Library provides access to ClinicalKey. Upgraded and expanded from MD Consult, this Point of Care research and "clinical insight engine" contains:

  • thousands of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks and very current journals
  • Procedures Consult's procedural videos
  • the First Consult POC information
  • additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Clinical Pharmacology
  • thousands of clinical and other medical images and videos
  • CME credits via the Cleveland Clinic


This resource is specifically designed to support physicians in evidence-based clinical care and clinical education and also supports researchers and instructors with an included presentation builder for use with images and videos.

NOTE: Users will need to create a FREE account to download or print from ebooks.

Primal Pictures (Anatomy.TV)

 

Web of Science

Operated by ISI Web of Knowledge, Web of Science is an online periodical index.  In spite of its name, Web of Science is multidisciplinary and covers:

  • Science Citation Index Expanded
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index

In addition to searching for articles on your topic, you can use Web of Science to find cited references, determine impact factor and much more. 

Here is a Quick Reference Guide about searching Web of Science

Follow nymclibrary on Facebook Follow nymclibrary on Twitter NYMCat Account | Staff | Suggestions | Touro Libraries © Health Sciences Library
New York Medical College
15 Dana Rd., Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel. (914) 594 4200