Skip to main content

RefWorks Fundamentals - Class Materials and Information: Refworks 2 or Refworks 3

RefWorks is a management program that allows one to build a bibliographic database.

Legacy Refworks

Currently, RefWorks is available using two platforms, Legacy RefWorks 2 and Refworks3 (new). This guide will focus on Legacy RefWorks 2. Legacy users may migrate at their own pace until September 2017, when the legacy version is retired. For more information about the transition visit the New RefWorks page. 

RefWorks

RefWorks is web-based software which allows you to create a database of references, manipulate, organize and share the database, and use those references when writing papers. It is licensed by the Health Sciences Library for use by the New York Medical College community.

 

Accessing RefWorks

If you are off campus LOG IN on the Health Sciences Library homepage and enter either your NYMC login or library barcode and password before opening RefWorks. RefWorks is listed on the home page under Tools and on the  Databases Page, alphabetically.

 

 

Creating a RefWorks Account

Open RefWorks. A login page will appear. To create an account with a user name and password, click on Sign up for a New Account, complete the form, and click Create Account.

RefWorks Group Code rwnymc

 

Creating a Folder

  • Folders help you organize your database by topic or project
  • To create a folder, select New Folder. The Create New Folder window will open. Name the folder
  • Click Create
  • You can now import references, or move existing references, into your folder

 

Populating your Account

You can populate your RefWorks database with references from many of the Library's databases. Below are some examples of ways to import references. 

 

Legacy RefWorks is slated to sunset in September 2017. Please visit the Transitioning to new RefWorks page for more information on how to migrate your account. 

Follow nymclibrary on Facebook Follow nymclibrary on Twitter NYMCat Account | Staff | Suggestions | Touro Libraries © Health Sciences Library
New York Medical College
15 Dana Rd., Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel. (914) 594 4200