Skip to main content

Systematic Review Resources: Home

What is a Systematic Review?

Cochrane Collaboration: "A review of a clearly formulated question that uses systematic and explicit methods to identify, select, and critically appraise relevant research, and to collect and analyse data from the studies that are included in the review. Statistical methods (meta-analysis) may or may not be used to analyse and summarise the results of the included studies." From the Cochrane Handbook

National Health ServiceWhat is a Systematic Review?    What is Meta-Analysis?

Campbell CollaborationWhat is a Systematic Review?

Where do I Find Systematic Reviews?

Linking to the Cochrane Databases and PubMed through the Health Sciences Library Databases ensures you have access to the full text of systematic reviews and articles, when available.

 

Campbell Collaboration an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions focusing on education, crime and justice, and social welfare.

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination CRD databases are updated daily and provide decision-makers with access to: quality assessed systematic reviews, economic evaluations, summaries of health technology assessments, summaries of all Cochrane reviews and protocols, and summaries of Campbell reviews.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) covers a broad range of health related interventions and complements the CDSR by quality-assessing and summarizing reviews that have not yet been carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration. Each abstract includes a summary of the review together with a critical commentary about the overall quality.

PubMed (Medline) both the full PubMed database and the PubMed Clinical Queries tool may be used to locate systematic reviews. The Clinical Queries tool retreives citations identified as systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, guidelines, and citations to articles from journals specializing in review studies of value to clinicians.

 

Where do I Find Studies to Include in a Systematic Review?

Trial Registers:

Clinicaltrials.gov a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) includes details of published articles taken from bibliographic databases (notably MEDLINE and EMBASE), and other published and unpublished sources, including all Cochrane Review Groups' Specialised Registers and the handsearch results register.

Current Controlled Trials metaRegister of Controlled Trials (mRCT) The metaRegister of Controlled Trials ( mRCT) provides access to major registers, making it one of the largest controlled trials resources in the world. Although its primary aim is to include information about ongoing controlled trials, it includes some completed trials.

GlaxoSmithKline Clinical Study Register summary protocol information for GSK sponsored clinical studies.

IFPMA Clinical Trials Portal International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers & Associations. New and ongoing clinical trials of members' products.

World Health Organization International Clinical Trials Registry Platform Search Portal information about ongoing and completed international clinical trials.

 

Databases:
 
Logging in to the following databases through the Health Sciences Library Databases ensures you have access to the full text of articles, when available.

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) nursing and allied health disciplines, including health administration. 

EMBASE biosciences coverage specializing in pharmaceutical information. Although the Health Sciences Library does not have access to EMBASE, we do have Scopus, which contains the contents of EMBASE (minus the EMBASE Thesaurus). Embase Systematic Review Guide - April 2015. 

PubMed/ MEDLINE National Library of Medicine's biosciences database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.  The Health Sciences Library provides access to PubMed and multiple MEDLINE interfaces. 

PsycINFO psychology and related fields. 

Scopus a large multidisciplinary database which contains the contents of PubMed and EMBASE without the detailed subject indexing or customized interfaces. 

Web of Science (Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index) SCI covers medical and life sciences, and other sciences. SSCI includes economics, education, health sciences, social policy and social work.

 

Specialty Databases: 

Some systematic review topics will be covered by subject specific databases.

Freely available databases such as Agricola (agriculture, including animal sciences, human nutrition, environmental sciences and more); Basic Medical Sciences DatabasesERIC (education); PEDro (physiotherapy) and others may be appropriate depending on your topic. A database not available to affiliates of New York Medical College can be searched by a librarian through Dialog for associated fees. 

 

Collaborate with a Librarian

To discuss the possibility of working with a Librarian, contact:

Deborah Crooke (914) 594-3168 
Marie Ascher (914) 594-4207

Why You Should Collaborate with a Librarian

Several recent reports have recommended the inclusion of expert searcher librarians on systematic review research teams. 

A major part of the systematic review methodology is the conduct of an extensive search which is exhaustive in its reach and doesn't miss relevant articles. Librarians are especially equipped to develop and execute systematic review search strategies as suggested by guidelines and standards set forth:

Librarians at the NYMC Health Sciences Library are looking for opportunities to collaborate with researchers on systematic review projects both:    
                
1.   As an integral part of the research and planning team. The librarians collaborate with the team to develop a search relevant to the question, execute searches in multiple relevant databases; manage search results; facilitate a process for document retrieval; provide a means and home for sharing and scoring of studies by the research team (probably using bibliographic management software such as RefWorks or EndNote and other collaborative technologies); and/or write/co-author the methodology portion of any resulting manuscript. In this case the librarian would be a co-author on resulting publication(s).

2.  By providing support. Librarians can review search strategies and/or make suggestions for databases to search; provide recommended search terms/subject headings respective to selected databases; provide technical support and assistance; and facilitate retrieval of documents. In this situation it would be appropriate to provide an acknowledgement to the librarian or library in any resulting publication.       

 

Engaging Medical Librarians to Improve the Quality or Review Articles

Library Liaison Program
Literature Search Request 
Request a Consultation with a Librarian     

Guides and Resources - How do I Conduct a Systematic Review?

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination Systematic Reviews: CRD's Guidance for Undertaking Reviews in Health Care  provides practical guidance for undertaking systematic reviews evaluating the effects of health interventions.

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
 PROSPERO the first open access online facility to prospectively register systematic reviews.

Cochrane Collaboration Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions  provides guidance to authors for the preparation of Cochrane Intervention reviews
.

National Academies Press Finding What Works in Healthcare: Standards for Systematic Reviews 21 standards from the Institutes of Medicine for developing high-quality systematic reviews of comparative effectiveness research. 

PRISMA (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses) an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. The aim of the PRISMA Statement is to help authors improve the reporting of systematic reviews and meta-analyses.

Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice Introduction to Systematic Reviews  funded by the National Library of Medicine, EBBP creates training resources to help bridge the gap between behavioral health research and practice.

Recent Systematic Reviews at NYMC

 

References

Bytyci, I., Bajraktari, G., Bhatt, D. L., Morgan, C. J., Ahmed, A., Aronow, W. S., . . . Lipid and Blood Pressure Meta-analysis Collaboration (LBPMC) Group. (2017). Hydrophilic vs lipophilic statins in coronary artery disease: A meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Journal of Clinical Lipidology, 11(3), 624-637. doi:S1933-2874(17)30071-5 [pii]

Citrome, L. (2017). Valbenazine for tardive dyskinesia: A systematic review of the efficacy and safety profile for this newly approved novel medication-what is the number needed to treat, number needed to harm and likelihood to be helped or harmed? International Journal of Clinical Practice, doi:10.1111/ijcp.12964 [doi]

Hu, S., Helman, S. N., Hanly, E., & Likhterov, I. (2017). The role of surgery in anaplastic thyroid cancer: A systematic review. American Journal of Otolaryngology, 38(3), 337-350. doi:S0196-0709(17)30154-0 [pii]

Maisonneuve, P., Amar, S., & Lowenfels, A. B. (2017). Periodontal disease, edentulism, and pancreatic cancer: A meta-analysis. Annals of Oncology : Official Journal of the European Society for Medical Oncology, 28(5), 985-995. doi:10.1093/annonc/mdx019 [doi]

Sardar, P., Giri, J., Elmariah, S., Chatterjee, S., Kolte, D., Kundu, A., . . . Abbott, J. D. (2017). Meta-analysis of drug-eluting stents versus coronary artery bypass grafting in unprotected left main coronary narrowing. The American Journal of Cardiology, 119(11), 1746-1752. doi:S0002-9149(17)30290-4 [pii] 

Nairooz, R., Saad, M., Sardar, P., & Aronow, W. S. (2017). Two-year outcomes of bioresorbable vascular scaffold versus drug-eluting stents in coronary artery disease: A meta-analysis. Heart (British Cardiac Society), doi:heartjnl-2016-310886 [pii]

Sardar, P., Kundu, A., Chatterjee, S., Nohria, A., Nairooz, R., Bangalore, S., . . . Lavie, C. J. (2017). Long-term cardiovascular mortality after radiotherapy for breast cancer: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Clinical Cardiology, 40(2), 73-81. doi:10.1002/clc.22631 [doi]

Towle, P. O., & Patrick, P. A. (2016). Autism spectrum disorder screening instruments for very young children: A systematic review. Autism Research and Treatment, 2016, 4624829. doi:10.1155/2016/4624829 [doi] 

Brie, D., Sahebkar, A., Penson, P. E., Dinca, M., Ursoniu, S., Serban, M. C., . . . Lipid, Blood Pressure Meta-analysis Collaboration (LBPMC) Group. (2016). Effects of pentoxifylline on inflammatory markers and blood pressure: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Journal of Hypertension, 34(12), 2318-2329. doi:10.1097/HJH.0000000000001086 [doi]

Sen, P., Kundu, A., Sardar, P., Chatterjee, S., Nairooz, R., Amin, H., & Aronow, W. S. (2016). Outcomes after cardioversion in atrial fibrillation patients treated with non-vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulants (NOACs): Insights from a meta-analysis. American Journal of Cardiovascular Drugs : Drugs, Devices, and Other Interventions, 16(1), 33-41. doi:10.1007/s40256-015-0136-1 [doi] 

Greenberg, W. M., & Citrome, L. (2016). Pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of lurasidone hydrochloride, a second-generation antipsychotic: A systematic review of the published literature. Clinical Pharmacokinetics, doi:10.1007/s40262-016-0465-5 [doi] 

Saccone, G., Khalifeh, A., Elimian, A., Bahrami, E., Chaman-Ara, K., Bahrami, M. A., & Berghella, V. (2016). Vaginal progesterone compared to intramuscular 17-alpha-hydroxyprogesterone caproate for prevention of recurrent spontaneous preterm birth in singleton gestations: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Ultrasound in Obstetrics & Gynecology : The Official Journal of the International Society of Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology, doi:10.1002/uog.17245 [doi] 

Brie, D., Sahebkar, A., Penson, P. E., Dinca, M., Ursoniu, S., Serban, M. C., . . . Lipid, Blood Pressure Meta-analysis Collaboration (LBPMC) Group. (2016). Effects of pentoxifylline on inflammatory markers and blood pressure: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Journal of Hypertension, doi:10.1097/HJH.0000000000001086 [doi] 

Patel, N. A., Garber, D., Hu, S., & Kamat, A. (2016). Systematic review and case report: Intracranial complications of pediatric sinusitis. International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology, 86, 200-212. doi:10.1016/j.ijporl.2016.05.009 [doi]

Ravnskov, U., Diamond, D. M., Hama, R., Hamazaki, T., Hammarskjold, B., Hynes, N., . . . Sundberg, R. (2016). Lack of an association or an inverse association between low-density-lipoprotein cholesterol and mortality in the elderly: A systematic review. BMJ Open, 6(6), e010401-2015-010401. doi:10.1136/bmjopen-2015-010401 [doi] 

Nairooz, R., Feldman, D. N., Rochlani, Y., Aronow, W. S., Sardar, P., Mukherjee, D., . . . Patel, P. (2016). Impact of intraprocedural thrombotic events on short- and long-term outcomes following percutaneous coronary intervention. evidence from a meta-analysis. International Journal of Cardiology, 202, 469-476. doi:10.1016/j.ijcard.2015.09.030 [doi]

Serban, M. C., Sahebkar, A., Zanchetti, A., Mikhailidis, D. P., Howard, G., Antal, D., . . . Lipid and Blood Pressure Meta-analysis Collaboration (LBPMC) Group. (2016). Effects of quercetin on blood pressure: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Journal of the American Heart Association, 5(7), 10.1161/JAHA.115.002713. doi:10.1161/JAHA.115.002713 [doi] 

Follow nymclibrary on Facebook Follow nymclibrary on Twitter NYMCat Account | Staff | Suggestions | Touro Libraries © Health Sciences Library
New York Medical College
15 Dana Rd., Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel. (914) 594 4200