Skip to main content
Ask a Librarian | Contact Us | Suggestions | NYMC | Give to HSL

RefWorks Fundamentals - Class Materials and Information: Importing & Exporting

RefWorks is a management program that allows one to build a bibliographic database.

Enter a Reference Manually

  • From the Refworks Toolbar, select References, then Add New
  • If you know the citation format you will use in your paper, select it from the Fields used by drop down menu
  • Select a Reference Type from the drop down menu
  • Type or paste citation data into the appropriate fields
  • Select a destination folder
  • Click on Save Reference and close the window

Direct Export from Ebsco Databases

  • Search an Ebsco database (CINAHL, Health Business Elite, Nursing & Allied Health Collection, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, etc.)
  • Select the the references you wish to export by adding them to the Ebsco folder (Click on the Add to Folder icon)
  • Go to Folder View
  • Click on the Export link
  • Under Save Citations to a File Format, choose Direct Export to RefWorks
  • Click Save
  • You will be prompted to log into RefWorks if you are not already logged in
  • Selected references will import
  • In RefWorks:
  • Click on View the Last Imported Folder to view imported records
  • Move references into the appropriate folder

Direct Export from Google Scholar

  • Set Up Google Scholar Preferences:
  • Enter Google Scholar through the Library’s web page
  • Click Settings
  • Under Bibliography Manager, click the button next to Show Links to Import Citations Into
  • Select Refworks from the drop down menu
  • Click Save
  • Conduct your Search in Google Scholar:
  • Search Google Scholar
  • Click the Import into RefWorks link associated with your desired record
  • You will be prompted to log into RefWorks if you are not already logged in
  • In RefWorks:
  • Click on View the Last Imported Folder to view imported record
  • Examine the fields in the record and edit if needed
  • Move references into the appropriate folder

Import to Excel

  • In RefWorks open the folder you want to export references from. If you want to export all references in your database remain on All References.
  •  Scroll over the References tab and click on Export References. 
  • Choose references to include: Selected, Page or All in List.
  • From the export format drop-down menu, select Tab Delimited, and then click on Export References.
  • A new page will open. Save it as a text file (.txt)
  • Open Excel, click on the Data Tab, then click on the From Text Icon. 
  • Select your file and click on Import. 
  • A Text Import Wizard box will open; make sure the file type Delimited is selected; click on the Next button; make sure that Tab is selected under Delimiters; click on the Next button and then click on the Finish button. 
  • The spreadsheet will open containing the references. Remove whichever fields you do not want and rename the column headings if desired.

Import References from PubMed

  • Conduct a search in PubMed
  • Select the records you wish to import
  • Click Send To: Citation Manager. Click Create File. The file will automatically download as a text file. 
  • Log on to RefWorks
  • From the RefWorks tool bar choose References, then Import
  • From the Import Filter/Data Source menu select NLM PubMed
  • Click on the Browse button to locate the file you wish to import
  • Choose the destination folder (optional) from the Import into Folder drop down list
  • Click the Import button

References can be viewed in the Last Imported File

Direct Export from Embase

  • Search the Embase database
  • Select the references you wish to export
  • Click on the Export link (next to Results, not next to History)
  • Under Export Format, choose RefWorks Direct Export
  • Click Export
  • A window will display saying “Your data is ready to be submitted to RefWorks”. Click Submit
  • You will be prompted to log into RefWorks if you are not already logged in
  • Selected references will import
  • In RefWorks:
  • Click on View the Last Imported Folder to view imported records
  • Move references into the appropriate folder
Follow nymclibrary on Facebook Follow nymclibrary on Twitter NYMCat Account | Staff | Suggestions | Touro Libraries © Health Sciences Library
New York Medical College
15 Dana Rd., Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel. (914) 594 4200