Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

Legacy RefWorks

RegGrab-It

RefGrab-It is an optional feature for capturing bibliographic information from web pages. It is available as a bookmarklet that works with Internet Explorer and Firefox.

RefGrab-It looks for information on web pages and if an ISBN number, PubMed ID or (digital object identifier) or COinS (ContextObjects in Spans -- special coding embedded in the web page that RefWorks will read) are on the web page, RefGrab-It will automatically take that information search various web resources (behind the scenes) to get supplemental information that may be of interest to you that you can also import. ​

You can find RefGrab-It under the Tools tab of the main navigation menu. Instructions for the installation can also be found there.

Cite in Google Docs

Use Google Docs to write? The RefWorks add-on allows you to insert and edit citations from your RefWorks library while you're working in Docs. It even adds your bibliography for you!

  1. In your RefWorks account, click on the Tools tab in the main navigation bar.
  2. Click on the Tools option in the sub-menu.
  3. Scroll down the page until you reach the "Cite in Google Docs" section.
  4. Click on the "Get the Add-on" button.
  5. Follow the instructions to install on your browser.

Accessing the Add-In

  1. In your Google Doc, click on the Add-ons tab in the main navigation bar.
  2. Click on "ProQuest RefWorks" from the drop-down menu and then "Manage citations" from the sub-menu.
  3. The add-in will appear as a sidebar on the right side of your document.
  4. Sign into your RefWorks account.

Cite in Google Docs Edit Citation WindowInserting an In-Text Citation

  1. Search for the reference using the "All references" drop-down menu or the search box.
  2. Once you have the reference you want to insert, hover over it and click on the "Edit and Cite" button.
  3. Edit the citation as necessary (e.g. add page numbers).
  4. Click on the Insert button.

Inserting a Bibliography

Once an in-text citation has been put in the document, the add-in will also automatically generate a bibliography at the end of the document.

Changing the Citation Style

  1. Click on the cog icon in the upper, right-hand corner of the "ProQuest RefWorks" sidebar.
  2. Click on the "Change citation style" option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Use the search box to find the style you want to apply.
  4. Click the Update button.

General Notes on Word's Write-N-Cite/RefWorks Citation Manager

  • Use Write-N-Cite for all versions of Word prior to 2016
  • Use RefWorks Citation Manager for all versions of Word from 2016 onward.
  • While both Write-N-Cite (WNC) / RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) will be located as one of your main navigation tabs, WNC will display as part of the top navbar while RCM will display as a sidebar on the right side of the screen.
  • From there, you can log into your RefWorks account to insert in-text citations and bibliographies based on the references you have in your library.
  • You can also change the citation style of the document mid-writing, and it will reorganize your in-text citations and reference list accordingly.
  • If you have already logged into your RefWorks account, but haven't used Write-N-Cite in a while, you may want to click on the "Sync My Database" button to ensure that all of your current references, current project, and favorite/recently used styles are accounted for.
  • NOTE: Currently, Reference Citation Manager is unavailable for users who get their Microsoft Office products through NYMC.

Word's Write-N-Cite (WNC) Functions

Write-N-Cite Menu in Word

NOTE: Make sure your cursor is placed where you want to insert the in-text citation before you actually insert it.

New References

  1. Click on the "Insert Citation" button.
  2. Click on the "Insert new" option.
  3. Navigate to the appropriate folder where your reference(s) lives.
  4. Click on the reference(s) you want to use.
  5. Click the OK button.

Already-Used References

  1. Click on the "Insert Citation" button.
  2. Click on the appropriate reference from the list of recently used references above "Insert new."

  1. Right click on the citation you want to add page numbers to.
  2. Click on the "Edit Citation" option from the pop-up menu.
  3. Add the page numbers in the Suffix portion of the "Edit References" section.
    • NOTE: You MUST add the comma, spacing, and appropriate page designation as well as the actual page numbers in order for Write-N-Cite to format them correctly.
  4. Click the OK button.

RefWorks Insert Citation Window in MS Word

NOTE: Make sure your cursor is placed where you want to insert the bibliography before you actually insert it.

  1. Click on the "Bibliography Options" button.
  2. Click on the "Insert Bibliography" option.
  1. Click on the Style drop-down menu.
  2. If the style isn't in your recent styles, click on the "Select Other Style" option.
    • NOTE: For a style to be listed in the "Select Other Style" window, you must have already used it in the web version of RefWorks and synced your RefWorks Word plugin with your web account. 
  3. Click on the appropriate style and click the Save button.
  1. Log into your New RefWorks web account.
  2. Click on the drop-down arrow next to the name of your current project.
  3. Select the project you want to set as your current project from the drop-down menu.
  4. In your Word document, click on the "Sync My Database" option in the Extras section.
  5. Now when you go to insert a new citation, you should see the folders associated with the appropriate project.
    • NOTE: If you have the Reference Citation Manager plugin, the plugin will ask you what project you want to work in every time you open it. It will also give you the option to change projects from within the plugin.

Word's Reference Citation Manager (RCM) Functions

RCM References Page

RCM Settings Page

RCM Edit Citation Page

NOTE: Make sure your cursor is placed where you want to insert the in-text citation before you actually insert it.

  1. Use the “All references” drop-down menu or the “Search all references” box to search for the reference(s) you want to add.
  2. Click on the checkbox next to the appropriate reference(s).
  3. Click the “Insert Citation” button.

RCM Editing a Citation

  1. Click on the in-text citation. 
    • When you’re in a citation, it will be highlighted or surrounded by a blue rectangle.
    • The RCM sidebar will also change to reflect the citation information of the in-text citation you’ve selected in your document.
  2. Add the page numbers in the suffix box.
    • NOTE: You MUST add the comma, spacing, and appropriate page designation as well as the actual page numbers in order for RefWorks Citation Manager to format them correctly.
  3. Click the “Update Citation” button.
  1. Click the hamburger menu icon (the three parallel horizontal lines icon) at the top left of the RCM sidebar.
  2. Click on the Bibliography toggle button to turn it on.
  1. Click the hamburger menu icon (the three parallel horizontal lines icon) at the top left of the RCM sidebar.
  2. Click on the “Citation style” section.
  3. Click on the “Change Citation Style” drop-down menu.
  4. Use the search box to search for the style you want.
  1. Click the hamburger menu icon (the three parallel horizontal lines icon) at the top left of the RCM sidebar.
  2. Click on the Project section.
  3. Use the “Select Project” drop-down menu to select the project you want.