Skip to main content
Ask a Librarian | Contact Us | Suggestions | NYMC | Give to HSL

GSBMS Thesis Prep: GSBMS Thesis Styles

 

GSBMS Thesis Style: Highlights


Document Text:

  • Standard typeface (such as Calibri or Times New Roman), 12 point font.
  • Double space all straight text. Quotations, footnotes, titles, table headings, legends and references should be single spaced.
  • Document should be left-justified with an unjustified ("ragged") right margin.

 

Styles:
The draft Guidelines include 4 styles, one of which should be used in the literature review, master's thesis or dissertation.
 


Style 1

In-text citations: 

Once upon a time one group reported some interesting data (2).  But then some other investigators found conflicting results (1, 5).  This situation caused confusion and frustration (4).  Finally, some graduate students with a fresh perspective nailed it down and now we think we know why up is down and left is right (3). 
References:

  1. 
Afonina E, Neumann M, Pavlakis GN. Preferential binding of poly(A)-binding protein 1 to an inhibitory RNA element in the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 gag mRNA. J Biol Chem. 1997;272:2307-2311.
  2. 
Gabriel G, Dauber B, Wolff T, Planz O, Klenk HD, Stech J. The viral polymerase mediates adaptation of an avian influenza virus to a mammalian host. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2005;102:18590-18595. 
  3. 
Kuwahara S, Ikei A, Taguchi Y, Tabuchi Y, Fujimoto N, Obinata M, Uesugi S, Kurihara Y. PSPC1, NONO, and SFPQ are expressed in mouse sertoli cells and may function as coregulators of androgen receptor-mediated transcription. Biol Reprod. 2006;75:352-359.
  4. 
Shav-Tal Y, Zipori D. PSF and p54(nrb)/NonO--multi-functional nuclear proteins. FEBS Lett. 2002;531:109-114.
  5. 
Zolotukhin AS, Michalowski D, Bear J, Smulevitch SV, Traish AM, Peng R, Patton J, Shatsky IN, Felber BK. PSF acts through the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 mRNA instability elements to regulate virus expression. Mol Cell Biol. 2003;23:6618-6630.


Style 2

In-text citations:
Once upon a time, Gabriel et al. (2005) reported some interesting data. But then some other investigators found conflicting results (Afonina et al., 1997; Zolotukhin et al., 2003). This situation caused confusion and frustration (Shav-Tal and Zipori, 2002). Finally, some graduate students with a fresh perspective nailed it down and now we think we know why up is down and left is right (Kuwahara et al., 2006).

References:

  1. 
Afonina E, Neumann M, Pavlakis GN. Preferential binding of poly(A)-binding protein 1 to an inhibitory RNA element in the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 gag mRNA. J Biol Chem. 1997;272:2307-2311.
  2. 
Gabriel G, Dauber B, Wolff T, Planz O, Klenk HD, Stech J. The viral polymerase mediates adaptation of an avian influenza virus to a mammalian host. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2005;102:18590-18595. 
  3. 
Kuwahara S, Ikei A, Taguchi Y, Tabuchi Y, Fujimoto N, Obinata M, Uesugi S, Kurihara Y. PSPC1, NONO, and SFPQ are expressed in mouse sertoli cells and may function as coregulators of androgen receptor-mediated transcription. Biol Reprod. 2006;75:352-359.
  4. 
Shav-Tal Y, Zipori D. PSF and p54(nrb)/NonO--multi-functional nuclear proteins. FEBS Lett. 2002;531:109-114.
  5. 
Zolotukhin AS, Michalowski D, Bear J, Smulevitch SV, Traish AM, Peng R, Patton J, Shatsky IN, Felber BK. PSF acts through the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 mRNA instability elements to regulate virus expression. Mol Cell Biol. 2003;23:6618-6630.

  
Style 3

In-text citations: 
Once upon a time, Gabriel et al. (2005) reported some interesting data.  But then some other investigators found conflicting results (Afonina et al., 1997; Zolotukhin et al., 2003).  This situation caused confusion and frustration (Shav-Tal and Zipori, 2002).  Finally, some graduate students with a fresh perspective nailed it down and now we think we know why up is down and left is right (Kuwahara et al., 2006). 

References:

Afonina E, Neumann M, Pavlakis GN. Preferential binding of poly(A)-binding protein 1 to an inhibitory RNA element in the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 gag mRNA. J Biol Chem.1997;272:2307-2311. 

Gabriel G, Dauber B, Wolff T, Planz O, Klenk HD, Stech J. The viral polymerase mediates adaptation of an avian influenza virus to a mammalian host. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2005;102:18590-18595.  

Kuwahara S, Ikei A, Taguchi Y, Tabuchi Y, Fujimoto N, Obinata M, Uesugi S, Kurihara Y. PSPC1, NONO, and SFPQ are expressed in mouse sertoli cells and may function as coregulators of androgen receptor-mediated transcription. Biol Reprod. 2006;75:352-359. 

Shav-Tal Y, Zipori D. PSF and p54(nrb)/NonO--multi-functional nuclear proteins. FEBS Lett. 2002;531:109-114. 

 Zolotukhin AS, Michalowski D, Bear J, Smulevitch SV, Traish AM, Peng R, Patton J, Shatsky IN, Felber BK. PSF acts through the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 mRNA instability elements to regulate virus expression. Mol Cell Biol. 2003;23:6618-6630.

 

Style 4 

In-text citations: 
Once upon a time, Gabriel et al. (2005) reported some interesting data.  But then some other investigators found conflicting results (Afonina et al., 1997; Zolotukhin et al., 2003).  This situation caused confusion and frustration (Shav-Tal and Zipori, 2002).  Finally, some graduate students with a fresh perspective nailed it down and now we think we know why up is down and left is right (Kuwahara et al., 2006).

References:

Afonina E, Neumann M, Pavlakis GN. 1997. Preferential binding of poly(A)-binding protein 1 to an inhibitory RNA element in the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 gag mRNA. J Biol Chem. 272:2307-2311. 

Gabriel G, Dauber B, Wolff T, Planz O, Klenk HD, Stech J. 2005. The viral polymerase mediates adaptation of an avian influenza virus to a mammalian host. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 102:18590-18595.  

 Kuwahara S, Ikei A, Taguchi Y, Tabuchi Y, Fujimoto N, Obinata M, Uesugi S, Kurihara Y. 2006. PSPC1, NONO, and SFPQ are expressed in mouse sertoli cells and may function as coregulators of androgen receptor-mediated transcription. Biol Reprod. 75:352-359. 

Shav-Tal Y, Zipori D. 2002. PSF and p54(nrb)/NonO--multi-functional nuclear proteins. FEBS Lett. 531:109-114. 

Zolotukhin AS, Michalowski D, Bear J, Smulevitch SV, Traish AM, Peng R, Patton J, Shatsky IN, Felber BK. 2003. PSF acts through the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 mRNA instability elements to regulate virus expression. Mol Cell Biol. 23:6618-6630.

 

Note:

In the bibliography of all 4 styles:

  • List articles in alphabetical order by the last name of the first author under References. 
  • Author names are in bold font, separated by commas, with no periods after the initials except after the final name. 
  • Article title is in regular font, not italicized.
  • Journal title is in italic font, abbreviated, but with no periods except at the end of the title.
  • Use accepted Index Medicus abbreviations of journal names (search Journals in NCBI Databases from the PubMed home page).
  • No month or issue # is used unless there is no volume # or if each issue begins with page number one.
     

Differences:

  • Style 1 is the only style that uses numbers for in-text citations. They are not superscript, like AMA. Articles are not listed in the reference list by order of occurrence, but by alphabetical designation.
  • Styles 2-4 use author name and date for in-text citations. 
  • Styles 1 and 2 use a numbered reference list. Styles 3 and 4 do not.
  • In Styles 2-4, with articles with two authors, list both names in in-text citations with an and between them. Articles with 3 or more authors use et al. in italics in in-text citations (even the first time they are mentioned). 
  • Styles 1-3 list the year - semicolon - volume - colon - inclusive pages - period, after the journal title. Style 4 lists the year of publication immediately following the last author’s name in the reference list, rather than following the journal title.

For more information, see Guidelines for Preparing the Master's Literature Review, the Master’s Thesis & the Doctoral Dissertation, the official text that provides information about the requirements of the Graduate School of Basic Medical Sciences, and the American Medical Association Manual of Style 10th edition (also available on Reserve in the Health Sciences Library, Call # WZ 345 A511 2007)

Using GSBMS Thesis Styles in RefWorks and Microsoft Word

The Health Sciences Library has recreated the four GSBMS Thesis Styles inside of RefWorks for your use.  For more information on the styles themselves, visit our GSBMS Thesis Prep guide.  In order to use any of these styles, follow the instructions below:

RefWorks Create Bibliography Menu in New RefWorks

Accessing the Styles in RefWorks

  1. On your RefWorks homepage, click on the Create Bibliography icon in the top toolbar.
  2. Click on the Citation Style Editor option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click on the Institutional Styles link in the left sidebar.
  4. Click on the appropriate GSBMS Thesis Style to view the details of the style.
    • NOTE: If you want to modify the style, you can either click on the options button and duplicate the style or click on the Save a copy button.  This will create a copy of the style that will sit under My custom styles in the Citation Style Editor. 

Creating a Bibliography in RefWorks

  1. On your RefWorks homepage, click on the Create Bibliography icon in the top toolbar.
  2. Click on the Create bibliography option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click on the citation style drop-down menu next to the <-- Last Imported button on the menu bar. 
  4. Type in the appropriate style in the Search for styles... search box.
  5. Click on the style when it pops up below the search box.
    • NOTE: You can click on the Copy to Clipboard button to copy the bibliography to your clipboard and then paste your bibliography into a word processor.

Creating In-Text Citations in RefWorks

  1. On Your RefWorks homepage, click on the Create Bibliography Icon in the top toolbar.
  2. Click on the Quick cite option from the drop-down menu.  A pop up window will appear with three tabs: Citation Style, Insert Citations, and Bibliography.
  3. On the Citation Style tab, click on the citation style drop-down menu.
  4. Type in the appropriate style in the Search for styles... search box.
  5. Click on the style when it pops up below the search box.
  6. Click the Continue button.
  7. Depending on the style you are using, you will get one of two options. 
    1. If you have a numbered style (e.g. GSBMS Thesis Style 1), the system will recommend that you use one of the word processor plug-ins like Write-n-Cite and give you an example of how to cite your references.  You can then select which references you want to apply to the bibliography.  Note that you will have to rearrange the citations manually if you want to change the order.
    2. If you have a non-numbered style (e.g. GSBMS Thesis Styles 2, 3, or 4), the system will ask you to click on the reference(s) that you want to cite, format the in-text citation for you, and then ask you to click on the clipboard button to copy it your clipboard for pasting use in a word processor.
  8. Click on the Continue to bibliography button.
  9. Click the Copy to Clipboard button to copy the references to your clipboard and then paste the bibliography into a word processor.
    • NOTE: You can only do one in-text citation at a time, so you will have to uncheck the previous citation's reference(s) to start anew.

RefWorks Menu in Word

Changing the Style in Word

  1. Navigate to the RefWorks tab on your menu bar.
  2. If you haven't already done so, click the Login button and log into your RefWorks account.
    • NOTE: If you have already logged into RefWorks account, but haven't used Write-n-Cite in a while, you may want to click on the Sync My Database button to ensure that all of your current references are accounted for.
  3. Click on the Style drop-down menu.
  4. If the style isn't in your recent styles, click on the Select Other Style Option.
  5. Click on the appropriate style and click the Save button.

Creating a Bibliography in Word

  1. Click on the Bibliography Options button.
  2. Click on the Insert Bibliography option.
    • NOTE: Make sure your cursor is placed where you want to insert the bibliography before you actually insert it.

Creating In-Text Citations in Word

  1. Click on the Insert Citation button.
  2. To insert a new reference, click on the Insert new option, navigate to the appropriate folder, click on the reference(s) you want to use, and click the OK button.  To insert a previously used reference, click on the references from list of recently used references above Insert new.
Follow nymclibrary on Facebook Follow nymclibrary on Twitter NYMCat Account | Staff | Suggestions | Touro Libraries © Health Sciences Library
New York Medical College
15 Dana Rd., Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel. (914) 594 4200