Skip to main content
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

GSBMS Thesis Prep

Guideline for students writing a Literature Review, M.S. Thesis or Dissertation PhD.

RefWorks How To's

RefWorks Create Bibliography Menu in New RefWorks

  1. On your RefWorks homepage, click on the Create Bibliography icon in the top toolbar.
  2. Type in GSBMS Thesis Style.
    • NOTE: If you want to modify the style, you can either click on the options button and duplicate the style or click on the Save a copy button.  This will create a copy of the style that will sit under My custom styles in the Citation Style Editor. 

RefWorks Quick Cite Window

  1. On Your RefWorks homepage, click on the Create Bibliography Icon in the top toolbar.
  2. Click on the Quick cite option from the drop-down menu.  A pop up window will appear with three tabs: Citation Style, Insert Citations, and Bibliography.
  3. On the Citation Style tab, click on the citation style drop-down menu.
  4. Type in the appropriate style in the Search for styles... search box.
  5. Click on the style when it pops up below the search box.
  6. Click the Continue button.
  7. Depending on the style you are using, you will get one of two options. 
    1. If you have a numbered style (e.g. GSBMS Thesis Style 1), the system will recommend that you use one of the word processor plug-ins like Write-n-Cite and give you an example of how to cite your references.  You can then select which references you want to apply to the bibliography.  Note that you will have to rearrange the citations manually if you want to change the order.
    2. If you have a non-numbered style (e.g. GSBMS Thesis Styles 2, 3, or 4), the system will ask you to click on the reference(s) that you want to cite, format the in-text citation for you, and then ask you to click on the clipboard button to copy it your clipboard for pasting use in a word processor.
  8. Click on the Continue to bibliography button.
  9. Click the Copy to Clipboard button to copy the references to your clipboard and then paste the bibliography into a word processor.
    • NOTE: You can only do one in-text citation at a time, so you will have to uncheck the previous citation's reference(s) to start anew.

RefWorks Create Bibliography Screen

  1. On your RefWorks homepage, click on the Create Bibliography icon in the top toolbar.
  2. Click on the Create bibliography option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click on the citation style drop-down menu next to the <-- Last Imported button on the menu bar. 
  4. Type in the appropriate style in the Search for styles... search box.
  5. Click on the style when it pops up below the search box.
    • NOTE: You can click on the Copy to Clipboard button to copy the bibliography to your clipboard and then paste your bibliography into a word processor.

RefWorks Menu in Word

  1. Navigate to the RefWorks tab on your menu bar.
  2. If you haven't already done so, click the Login button and log into your RefWorks account.
    • NOTE: If you have already logged into RefWorks account, but haven't used Write-n-Cite in a while, you may want to click on the Sync My Database button to ensure that all of your current references are accounted for.
  3. Click on the Style drop-down menu.
  4. If the style isn't in your recent styles, click on the Select Other Style Option.
  5. Click on the appropriate style and click the Save button.

RefWorks Insert Citation Window in MS Word

  1. Click on the Insert Citation button.
  2. To insert a new reference, click on the Insert new option, navigate to the appropriate folder, click on the reference(s) you want to use, and click the OK button.  To insert a previously used reference, click on the references from list of recently used references above Insert new.
  1. Click on the Bibliography Options button.
  2. Click on the Insert Bibliography option.
    • NOTE: Make sure your cursor is placed where you want to insert the bibliography before you actually insert it.