Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

New RefWorks

Learn how to use the citation management software, New RefWorks, to organize and cite your references.

A General Note About Using New RefWorks

New RefWorks depends on the database you’re using to provide the appropriate metadata in order to create a citation. Different databases have different levels of metadata and different ways of organizing their metadata, which is why choosing the correct source for the bibliographic files you import into New RefWorks matters - unless you use Direct Export, in which case the system decides this step for you. 

Different databases also have different levels of quality for metadata, so if you’re finding that some databases don’t provide all the information you need for a complete citation, you can 1) look to see if you are choosing the correct source for importing, 2) look to see if the missing information is incorrectly living in a different field, or 3) provide the missing information yourself. 

Remember that in the end, you are responsible for the quality of your citations so make sure that they are complete and correct to the best of your ability. If you’re having trouble don’t hesitate to look at the physical or virtual style guides that we have at the library. You can also email, chat, or come talk to your librarians. We are here to help!

Importing References into New RefWorks

  1. Select the references you want to export.
  2. Click the "Send to" button above the results list.
  3. Select "Citation manager" from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select "Selection (#)" from the Selection drop-down menu.
  5. Click the "Create File" button.
  6. In your New RefWorks account, click on the Add tab of the main toolbar.
  7. Select the "Import References" option from the drop-down menu.
  8. Drag the file you downloaded from PubMed onto the page.
  9. Make sure New RefWorks recognizes the file as being in NLM PubMed format.
    • If you have to, you can click on the "search for the format" link and search for PubMed.
  10. Click the Import button.
  11. Select the Folder where you want the references to live from the "Assign to Folder" drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: If you do not choose a folder, your references will live in the "Not in Folder" category.
  12. Click the Import button.
  13. New RefWorks will use the database metadata to save your references.
  1. Select the references you want to export.
  2. Click on the "Export" link in the results section of the page (NOT the history section).
  3. From the "Choose a format" drop-down menu, select RefWorks Direct Export.
  4. Click the Export button.
  5. Click the "Submit to RefWorks" button.
  6. The system will prompt you to log into New RefWorks if you haven’t already. It may also ask if you want to go to the Legacy or New RefWorks.
    • NOTE: There is a checkbox below the two versions that will tell your browser to remember your choice so that you don’t have to enter it every time.
  7. Select the Project where you want the references to live from "Select a Project" drop-down menu.
  8. Select the Folder where you want the references to live from the "Assign to Folder" drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: If you do not choose a folder, your references will live in the "Not in Folder" category.
  9. Click the Import button.
  10. New RefWorks will use the database metadata to save your references.
  1. Search an EBSCO database (CINAHL, Health Business Elite, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, etc.) or the HSL Discovery Search.
  2. Add the references you want to use by clicking on the folder icon next to each record.
  3. Click on the "Folder View" link in the right sidebar.
  4. Check the "Select / deselect all" checkbox.
  5. Click the "Export" link in the right sidebar.
  6. Click the "Direct Export to RefWorks" button under the "Save citations to a file formatted for:" section on the right-hand side.
  7. Click the Save button.
  8. The system will prompt you to log into New RefWorks if you haven’t already. It may also ask if you want to go to the Legacy or New RefWorks.
    • NOTE: There is a checkbox below the two versions that will tell your browser to remember your choice so that you don’t have to enter it every time.
  9. Select the Project where you want the references to live from "Select a Project" drop-down menu.
  10. Select the Folder where you want the references to live from the "Assign to Folder" drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: If you do not choose a folder, your references will live in the "Not in Folder" category.
  11. Click the Import button.
  12. New RefWorks will use the database metadata to save your references.
  1. When you find an item you want to use in the library catalog search results, click into that record.
  2. Click the "Save record" link in the right sidebar.
  3. Select RIS from the drop-down menu.
  4. In your New RefWorks account, click on the Add tab of the main toolbar.
  5. Select the "Import References" option from the drop-down menu.
  6. Drag the file you downloaded from the catalog onto the page.
  7. Make sure New RefWorks recognizes the file as being in RIS Format.
    • If you have to, you can click on the "search for the format" link and search for RIS Format.
  8. Select RIS Format from the database drop-down menu next to the RIS Format file format designation.
  9. Click the Import button.
  10. Select the Folder where you want the references to live from the "Assign to Folder" drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: If you do not choose a folder, your references will live in the "Not in Folder" category.
  11. Click the Import button.
  12. New RefWorks will use the database metadata to save your references.
  1. Select the references you want to import.
  2. Click on the "Export selected citation(s)" link at the top of the search results page.
  3. Click on the RefWorks link under the "Save citation to:" section.
  4. If you want the abstract for each reference, check off the "Include abstract" checkbox at the bottom of the window.
  5. Click the Download button.
  6. In your New RefWorks account, click on the Add tab of the main toolbar.
  7. Select the "Import References" option from the drop-down menu.
  8. Drag the file you downloaded from Cochrane onto the page.
  9. Make sure New RefWorks recognizes the file as being in RIS Format.
    • If you have to, you can click on the "search for the format" link and search for RIS Format.
  10. Select RIS Format from the database drop-down menu next to the RIS Format file format designation.
  11. Click the Import button.
  12. Select the Folder where you want the references to live from the "Assign to Folder" drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: If you do not choose a folder, your references will live in the “Not in Folder” category.
  13. Click the Import button.
  14. New RefWorks will use the database metadata to save your references.

NOTE: Google Scholar tends to have unreliable metadata, meaning that you probably have to do a lot of editing to make citations you get from there usable.

Setting Up

  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. Click on the menu icon next to the "My profile" icon in the upper, left-hand corner of the page.
  3. Click on the Settings section at the bottom of the menu.
  4. If the system does not automatically default to the "Search results" section of the settings, click on the "Search results" link in the left sidebar.
  5. Go to the "Bibliography manager" section and select RefWorks from the drop-down menu for "Show links to import citations into."
  6. Click the Save button.
  7. Now the link will show up on the bottom, right side of the records in your search results list. 

Importing Your Result (Single Record)

  1. In your search results list, click on the "Import into RefWorks" link on the bottom, right side of your chosen record.
  2. The system will prompt you to log into New RefWorks if you haven’t already. It may also ask if you want to go to the Legacy or New RefWorks.
    • NOTE: There is a checkbox below the two versions that will tell your browser to remember your choice so that you don’t have to enter it every time.
  3. Select the Project where you want the references to live from "Select a Project" drop-down menu.
  4. Select the Folder where you want the references to live from the "Assign to Folder" drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: If you do not choose a folder, your references will live in the "Not in Folder" category.
  5. Click the Import button.
  6. New RefWorks will use the database metadata to save your references.

Importing Your Results (Multiple Records)

NOTE: Like PubMed, Google Scholar’s export functionality for multiple records requires you to perform multiple steps. However, unlike PubMed, Google Scholar has no bulk select tool, so you will have to select each article you want manually.

Also note that before you begin this process for a new search, make sure you’ve cleared the results of your last search from your library. 

  1. Click on the star icon underneath the records you want to export.
  2. Click on the "My library" link in the upper, right-hand corner of the page.
  3. Click on the checkbox next to the records you want to export or click on the checkbox on the menu bar at the top of the page to select all records on a page.
  4. Click on the export icon (it looks like a download button) on the menu bar.
  5. Select the RefMan option from the drop-down menu.
  6. Save the file that Google Scholar generates. Do NOT change the .ris file extension.
  7. In your New RefWorks account, click on the Add tab of the main toolbar.
  8. Select the "Import References" option from the drop-down menu.
  9. Drag the file you downloaded from Google Scholar onto the page.
  10. Make sure New RefWorks recognizes the file as being in RIS Format.
    • If you have to, you can click on the "search for the format" link and search for RIS Format.
  11. Select RIS Format from the database drop-down menu next to the RIS Format file format designation.
  12. Click the Import button.
  13. Select the Folder where you want the references to live from the "Assign to Folder" drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: If you do not choose a folder, your references will live in the "Not in Folder" category.
  14. Click the Import button.
  15. New RefWorks will use the database metadata to save your references.

Exporting References from New RefWorks

  1. In New RefWorks, select the folder or the specific references you want to export, OR if you want to export all references in your account, select the "All Documents" tab on your left sidebar.
  2. Click on the Share tab (third from the left) in the main toolbar.
  3. Select the "Export references" link from the drop-down menu.
  4. Make sure the From section reflects the selections you want to export.
  5. Select the "RIS Format" radio button from the Format section.
  6. Click the Export button. New RefWorks will then create an export.ris file that it sends to your downloads folder.
  7. You can then import that RIS file into your other citation management software.
  1. In New RefWorks, select the folder or the specific references you want to export, OR if you want to export all references in your account, select the "All Documents" tab on your left sidebar.
  2. Click on the Share tab (third from the left) in the main toolbar.
  3. Select "Export references" from the drop-down menu.
  4. Make sure the From section reflects the selections you want to export.
  5. Select "XML format" radio button from the Format section.
  6. Click the Export button. New RefWorks will then create an export.xml file that it sends to your downloads folder.
  7. Open a new Excel document.
  8. Click on the Data tab in the top toolbar.
  9. Click on the "Get Data" icon.
  10. Select "From File" from the drop-down menu.
  11. Select "From XML" from the sub-menu.
  12. Choose the export.xml file from your downloads folder.
  13. Click on the reference table icon to load a preview of your data.
    • If you are satisfied with the data the way it is, you can click on the Load button.
    • If you are not satisfied with the data, you can click on the Edit button. This will take you to a more detailed preview page where you can edit the table by deleting or inserting rows/columns. When you are done with your adjustments, you can click on the "Close & Load" button.
  14. Save your Excel spreadsheet.

NOTE: You can also follow this process by substituting the XML file for a Tab Delimited (.tsv) file. Once you import the .tsv file into Excel, the only major extra step you need to perform is making sure that the Delimiter field is set to tab so that the system can appropriately separate fields.

  1. In New RefWorks, select the folder or the specific references you want to export, OR  if you want to export all references in your account, select the "All Documents" tab on your left sidebar.
  2. Click on the Share tab (third from the left) on the main toolbar.
  3. Select "Export references" from the drop-down menu.
  4. Make sure the From section reflects the selections you want to export.
  5. Select "Tab Delimited (.tsv)" format radio button from the Format section.
  6. Click the Export button. New RefWorks will then create an export.tsv file that it sends to your downloads folder.
  7. Navigate to the folder in Google Docs where you want your spreadsheet to live.
  8. Upload the export.tsv file into the folder.
  9. Right click on the export.tsv file.
  10. Select "Open with" from the drop-down menu.
  11. Select "Google Sheets" from the sub drop-down menu.
  12. Google will generate an export spreadsheet from your .tsv file.