Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

New RefWorks

Learn how to use the citation management software, New RefWorks, to organize and cite your references.

Folders vs. Projects

Projects and folders have two distinct functions in New RefWorks, particularly in regards to sharing. Projects are a way of organizing references associated with different, distinct assignments. If you share a project in New RefWorks, you are essentially creating a project co-owner, who has the ability to add, edit, and delete any references or folders in the project. All project co-owners also have the ability to use these references in Word by using the Write-N-Cite (WNC) or Reference Citation Manager (RCM) plugin.  

In contrast, folders are subdivisions of a project and serve the purpose of organizing information within the project they’re associated with. If you share a folder, you are essentially showing others the references within the folder. While you do have the ability to let people modify the shared folder, items that you do not put into the folder are not part of your library, meaning that you cannot dedup or use them in Word.

Folders

  1. Click on the "My Folders" tab in the left sidebar.
  2. Click on the "+ Add a folder" link.
  3. Enter a unique name for your folder.
  4. Click the Save button.
  1. Click on the "My Folders" tab in the left sidebar.
  2. Navigate to the folder you want to create a subfolder for.
  3. Click on the three dots next to the folder’s name.
  4. Click on the "Add subfolder" option from the drop-down menu.
  5. Enter a unique name for your subfolder.
  6. Click the Save button.
    • NOTE: You cannot click and drag folders into other folders to create subfolders.
  1. Click on the Share tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Click on the "Share folder" from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select the folder you want to share from the drop-down menu.
  4. Enter the email addresses of the people who you want to share the folder with.
  5. Select the appropriate permissions for each person from the drop-down menu to the right of their name/email address.
    • NOTE: You can assign Read, Annotate, and Modify permissions, with Read being the most restrictive and Modify being least restrictive in terms of how the user can interact with the content of the shared folder.
  6. Click the Done button.
    • NOTE: The users you shared the folder with will then receive an email asking them to confirm their acceptance of the shared folder.

Projects

Project Drop-Down Menu in RefWorks

  1. Click on the drop-down arrow next to the name of your current project.
  2. Select "Manage projects…" from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click the "Create a new Project" button at the top of the page.
  4. Give your project a unique name.
  5. Click the Save button.
  1. Click on the drop-down arrow next to the name of your current project.
  2. Select the project you want to set as your current project from the drop-down menu.
  1. Click on the drop-down arrow next to the name of your current project.
  2. Select "Manage projects…" from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click on the Actions button next to the project you want to share.
  4. Select "Share Project" from the drop-down menu.
  5. Enter the email addresses of the people you want to share the project with. Separate multiple email addresses with either commas or semicolons.
  6. Click the Done button.
  1. Click on the drop-down arrow next to the name of your current project.
  2. Select "Manage projects…" from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click on the Actions button next to the project you want to share.
  4. Select "Sharing settings" from the drop-down menu.
  5. From here you can do one of two things:
    • Delete specific owners by clicking on the "Owners:" text and then clicking the "x Remove" button next to the people you want to delete.
    • Unshare a project completely by clicking on the "Unshare Project" button.
  1. Click on the drop-down arrow next to the name of your current project.
  2. Select "Manage projects…" from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click on the Actions button next to the project you want to delete.
  4. Select Delete from the drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: If the project you are deleting is set as your current project, you will need to change projects before you can delete it. 
    • NOTE: If the project you are deleting is set as a shared project, you will have to unshare the project before you can delete it.

Creating In-Text Citations

  1. RefWorks Quick Cite WindowClick on the "Create Bibliography" tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Click on the "Quick cite" option from the drop-down menu. A pop up window will appear with three tabs: Citation Style, Insert Citations, and Bibliography.
  3. On the "Citation Style" tab, click on the citation style drop-down menu.
  4. Type in the appropriate style in the "Search for styles…" search box.
  5. Click on the style when it pops up below the search box.
  6. Click the Continue button.
  7. Depending on the style you are using, you will get one of two options. 
    • If you have a numbered style (e.g. AMA), the system will recommend that you use one of the word processor plug-ins like Write-N-Cite and give you an example of how to cite your references. You can then select which references you want to apply to the bibliography. Note that you will have to rearrange the citations manually if you want to change the order.
    • If you have a non-numbered style (e.g. APA), the system will ask you to click on the reference(s) that you want to cite, format the in-text citation for you, and then ask you to click on the clipboard button to copy it your clipboard for pasting use in a word processor.
  8. Click on the "Continue to bibliography" button.
  9. Click the "Copy to Clipboard" button to copy the references to your clipboard and then paste the bibliography into a word processor.
    • NOTE: You can only do one in-text citation at a time, so you will have to uncheck the previous citation's reference(s) to start anew.

Creating a Bibliography

  1. Click on the "Create Bibliography" tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Click on the "Create bibliography" option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click on the citation style drop-down menu underneath "Bibliography from...". 
  4. Type in the appropriate style in the "Search for styles…" search box.
  5. Click on the style when it pops up below the search box.
  6. The system will then format the bibliography according to your citation style choice.
  7. You can then click on the "Copy to Clipboard" button to copy the bibliography to your clipboard and then paste your bibliography into a word processor.

Deduping

  1. First, make sure you are in the folder that you want to dedup.
  2. Click on the Tools tab in the main toolbar.
  3. Click on "Find duplicates" from the drop-down menu.
  4. Make sure that the radio button is set to All references in the folder you want to dedup and not All references in "All Documents" or else you will dedup across your entire RefWorks library.
  5. Select either Exact Match, Close Match, or Legacy Close Match from the drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: Exact Match looks for records that have identical metadata whereas Close Match and Legacy Close Match look for records that have similar metadata (e.g. April 2001 or 04/2001).
  6. Click the "Find Duplicates" button.
  7. Go through the results list and make sure that the checked results are really duplicates.
  8. Click on the Delete tab in the main toolbar.
  9. Select the Delete option from the drop-down menu to put them in the Trash, where you can permanently delete them.

Styles

New RefWorks has two types of styles, RefWorks styles and CSL styles. New RefWorks styles are created by the people who created and maintain the New RefWorks software. You can duplicate and modify these styles from within New RefWorks. CSL styles are open-source styles that New RefWorks does not guarantee the accuracy of. You can modify them from the Citation Style Visual Editor website, and they will appear in New RefWorks the next day.

  1. Click on the "Create Bibliography" tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Click on the "Citation Style Editor" option from the drop-down menu.
  3. You will then have 3 different ways to access styles:
    • On the main section of the page is an alphabetical listing of the available styles in RefWorks. You can use the search box above the listing to search for a style by name.
    • On the left sidebar, there is a "My custom styles" tab. This tab contains all of the styles that you have either created from scratch or created based on the formatting of an already-existing style. These styles will only appear in your account.
    • Below the "My custom styles" tab on the left sidebar is an "Institutional styles" tab. This tab contains the styles supported and maintained by NYMC. These styles appear to all users who have a RefWorks account through NYMC.
  4. To see the details of a style, click on its name.
  1. Click on the "Create Bibliography" tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Click on the "Citation Style Editor" option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Locate the style you wish to modify and click on its name.
  4. In the upper-right hand corner of the screen, there are two buttons you can use to create a duplicate of the style. Both buttons will create a copy that sits in the "My custom styles" tab:
    • When you click on the "Options" button, you have to first rename the style and then click the "Create duplicate" button.
    • When you click on the "Save a copy" button, you create a duplicate of the style with the exact same name as the original. It has a (Mine) designation next to it to differentiate from the original style, but the system recommends that you later rename it accordingly to prevent confusion. 
  5. The style you are now working in should be the duplicate you created designated by its name and the (Mine) after the name.
  6. You now have two options of how to modify a style:
    • In the top section, you can click and drag the field buttons to rearrange how the fields are displayed.
    • In the bottom section, you can click on the plus button next to any of the field names in the list to expand and edit the options for that particular field.
      • NOTE: You can add a field at any time by clicking on the + button on the right side of the top section. You can delete a field by clicking on its button in the top section and then clicking on the ‘x’ that appears above its name.
  7. Click on the Save button in the upper, right-hand corner of the page.
    • NOTE: To truly customize a style, you have to account for all of the iterations associated with the different resource types (e.g. books, articles, etc.). To do this, you need to repeat your modification process for all of the tabs under Reference type in the left sidebar. You also need to account for and modify the style’s in-text citations or footnotes, which sit under Bibliography on the left sidebar.

PDFs in New RefWorks

There is a limit to how many documents you can upload to RefWorks. To check the amount of available space you have:

  1. In your RefWorks account, click on your name in the upper, right-hand corner of the page. 
  2. Click on Settings from the drop-down menu.
  3. In the "Account Overview" section, there will be a "Document storage" bar that indicates how much storage space you have left.
  1. Click on the record you want to get a PDF for.
  2. Click on the "NYMC Article Linker" link underneath the record’s title.
  3. Download the full-text PDF.
    • NOTE: If we don’t own the article, you can order it via interlibrary loan. Instructions for ILL can be found here.
  4. Drag the PDF onto the appropriate record in New RefWorks.

New RefWorks PDF Reader Screen

  • Read: note that you need an internet connection to read PDFs in RefWorks as opposed to PDFs you save to your computer
  • Highlight: you have four different colors to choose from in case you want to color-code different ideas/sections
  • Notes: a sidebar that you show/hide that functions as a very bare bones text editor for note-taking
  • Comments: notes that are associated with a specific section of the text