Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

Cell Biology & Anatomy

Books, Apps, Online Resources

University of Michigan Medical School

These pages serve U-M Foundational Anatomy, a component of the Scientific Trunk of the M1 curriculum. Foundational Anatomy provides medical students with the necessary background in anatomy for success in clerkships.

Case Files Anatomy

Experience with clinical cases is central to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Anatomy provides 58 true-to-life cases thatillustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-tounderstand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, anatomy pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 58 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical, dental, and physician assistant students preparing for gross anatomy course exams and the Boards

Ask Anatomist!

AskAnatomist is an initiative to support community engagement in the disciplines of medical science, with a particular focus on anatomy. The @AskAnatomist Twitter account allows anyone with access to Twitter the opportunity to post an anatomy-related question using the #AnatQ hashtag. A group of anatomists located across the globe then work together to address #AnatQ questions. These #AnatQ questions also help provide topics for the AskAnatomist podcasts.

Rohen's Photographic Anatomy Flashcards

Call Number: 3-Day Reserve QS17 V699r 2016. Print ONLY.
This set of 220 flash cards is based on the images in Color Atlas of Anatomy: A Photographic Study of the Human Body, Sixth Edition. This is the only gross anatomy flash card set that includes full-color photographs of actual cadaver dissections. The photographs realistically depict anatomic structures as seen on the cadaver, allowing students to prepare for lab dissections and study for practical laboratory exams. On the front of each card is an image with key structures labeled. On the back of each card are hints to help identify the structure and relevant clinical pearls.

Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Anatomy

Call Number: 3-Day Reserve QS18.2 H296a 2019. Print ONLY.
Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Anatomy equips students with a clear, cohesive understanding of clinical anatomy, accentuated with embryology and histology content to ensure their readiness for clinical challenges. This format integrates approachable, lecture-style outlines with detailed full-color illustrations and photographs to clarify complex information and help students visualize key anatomic structures. Accompanying clinical examples and board-style review questions to help students excel on their exams.

Lippincott's Illustrated Q&A

Call Number: 3-Day Reserve QS18.2 L222L 2011. Print ONLY.
Up-to-date, clinically relevant board-style questions—perfect for course review and board prep. Approximately 400 multiple-choice questions with detailed answer explanations cover frequently tested topics in anatomy and embryology, including clinical topics.

Grant's Atlas of Anatomy

Call Number: 2-Hour Reserve QS17 A284g 2017
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy reaches students worldwide with its realistic dissection illustrations, detailed surface anatomy photos, clinical images and comments, and quick-reference muscle tables. Renowned for its accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance, this classic atlas boasts significant enhancements, including updated artwork, new conceptual diagrams, and vibrantly re-colored illustrations. Clinical material is clearly highlighted in blue text for easy identification.

Complete Anatomy App

3D4Medical's revolutionary cloud-based education platform allows users to investigate the minute detail of the human anatomy in incredible 3D.

Color Atlas of Anatomy

Call Number: 2 Hour Reserve QS17 R737c 2011. Print ONLY.
This Color Atlas of Anatomy features full-color photographs of actual cadaver dissections, with accompanying schematic drawings and diagnostic images. The photographs depict anatomic structures with a realism unmatched by illustrations in traditional atlases and show students specimens as they will appear in the dissection lab.

Netter's Anatomy Flash Cards

Call Number: 3-Day Reserve QS17 H2492n 2018. Print ONLY.
Netter's Anatomy Flash Cards are the most convenient and portable way to review anatomy on the fly. A perfect study aid and complement to Netter's Clinical Anatomy. Test and teach yourself at your own pace. Visually learn and identify anatomic structures using beautifully drawn artwork by and in the style of Frank Netter. Get clinically relevant knowledge with accompanying text and tables. Pre-punched holes make it easy to carry selected groups of cards with you. 

Teach Me Anatomy

Containing over 1000 vibrant, full-color images, TeachMeAnatomy is a comprehensive anatomy encyclopedia presented in a visually-appealing, easy-to-read format. Created by a team of doctors and medical students, each topic combines anatomical knowledge with high-yield clinical pearls, seamlessly bridging the gap between scholarly learning and improved patient care.

PreTest: Anatomy, Histology, and Cell Biology

Call Number: Main Collection QS18.2 A535 2010. Print ONLY.
You'll find 500 clinical-vignette style questions and answers along with complete explanations of correct and incorrect answers. The content has been reviewed by students who recently passed their exams, so you know you are studying the most relevant and up-to-date material possible. 

Moore's Anatomy Flashcards

Call Number: 1-Day Reserve QS17 G696m 2014.
This clinically relevant anatomy flash card set is based on the concepts and full-color images in Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy. The card set is a convenient, portable study tool for gross anatomy courses, exam preparation, clinical anatomy review during clerkships, and dental and allied health students.

Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy

Call Number: Main Collection QS4 M822c 2014.
Clinically Oriented Anatomy provides first-year medical students with the clinically oriented anatomical information that they need in study and practice. This best-selling anatomy textbook is renowned for its comprehensive coverage of anatomy, presented as it relates to the practice of medicine, dentistry, and physical therapy. 

Atlas of Human Anatomy

Online ONLY.
The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you’ll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today’s foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body.
 

Primal Pictures Interactive Anatomy

Available through the Health Sciences Library.
Primal Pictures 3D anatomy model, built using real scan data from the visible human project, has been carefully segmented to create an unparalleled level of detail and accuracy. All of the content within this program has been verified by qualified anatomists and by a team of external experts for each body area.

Dartmouth Anatomy

Interactive images and quizzes.