Skip to main content
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

Library Apps

Read by QxMD App

Read by QxMD

'Read by QxMD' provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. This iPhone & iPad app provides a simple interface that drives discovery and seamless access to the medical literature by reformatting it into a personalized digital journal.

Read by QxMD App Features:

  • Get full text PDFs with one tap
  • Keep up with the latest new research that will impact your practice
  • Browse through 1000s of outstanding topic reviews
  • Search millions of articles from PubMed and our database of outstanding topic reviews
  • Read your favorite journals or browse article collections.
  • Access full text through your university/institutional subscription or via open access publishers
  • Share articles with colleagues over email, Twitter and Facebook
  • Organize and review your personal collection of articles

NOTE: Whenever you access the library's resources from off-campus, remember to log into the library proxy network before navigating to the resources you want to use.


Registering for a QxMD Account

In order to use the app, you must have a QxMD account.  To create a QxMD account, follow the instructions below: 

  1. From the library homepage, click on the link to Read by QxMD found in the center of the page underneath the Search Everything... box.
  2. On the Read by QxMD homepage, click on the Create Account button in the upper, right-hand corner of the page.
  3. Click on the Sign up with Email button.
  4. Fill out the registration form.
    • NOTE: You do NOT need to use your NYMC email address to create an account.  However, you will need your NYMC email address later to link your account with the library to gain access to full-text materials.
  5. Once you've completed the registration form, the system will prompt you to fill out your profile, including which disciplines, journals, and keywords you want to follow.

NOTE: A QxMD account will serve as your account for both Read by QxMD and Calc by QxMD.


Installing the App for the First Time
  1. Go to the App Store/Google Play Store.
  2. Type Read by QxMD into the search box.
  3. Download the app to your phone.
    • NOTE: Make sure you have enough room on your phone before starting the download.
  4. Once the app is installed, click on the app's icon on your phone to access it.
  5. You will be prompted to log into the app using your personal account information.
  6. After you login, you will be able to use the app to keep yourself updated on the most recent scientific literature, but in order to access the library's full-text subscriptions through the app, you need to link to institutional access.
    • NOTE: If you did not complete your profile when creating your account online, you will prompted to finish it here before moving on.

Linking to Institutional Access
  1. Once you've logged into the Read by QxMD app, tap on the cog icon in the upper, left-hand corner of the app.
  2. Tap on the Institutional Access section from the side menu.
  3. Tap on Add in the upper, right-hand corner.
  4. Type in New York Medical College in the search box and select the record that pops up.
  5. Tap on the Automatic Login Using Barcode option.
  6. Enter your NYMC email and password.
  7. Tap on the Save and Log In option.
  8. Once the app successfully verifies you, it will prompt you to tap continue.

Now that you are linked to the library, you will be able to download the full-text of any articles the library owns.

Loading ...

Calculate by QxMD App

Calculate by QxMD

Calculate by QxMD

From the developer of 'Read by QxMD', 'The ECG Guide' and 'Pedi STAT' comes 'Calculate', a next-generation clinical calculator and decision support tool, freely available to the medical community. Calculate highlights tools which impact clinical practice either by simplifying diagnosis, clarifying treatment options or displaying prognosis. Helping you make decisions, not just calculate numbers...

Calculate by QxMD App Features:

  • Developed by a collaboration of clinician experts from diverse backgrounds
  • Point-of-care tools in the areas of cardiology, internal medicine, primary care, nephrology, hematology, hepatology, gastroenterology, emergency medicine, oncology, orthopedics, critical care/ICU, ENT, radiology, rheumatology, mental health, respirology, neurology, pediatrics, infectious disease, neurosurgery, general surgery, vascular surgery, and obstetrics.
  • Converts recent research publications into practical handheld tools - knowledge translation at its best
  • Automatically adapts to your clinical practice
  • Unique ‘Question Flow’ technology gets you answers, fast
  • Detailed references with PubMed & Read integration
  • Comprehensive and insightful results
  • Elegant design and intuitive interface
  • SI and Imperial units
  • More than 200 unique calculators and decision support tools

NOTE: Whenever you access the library's resources from off-campus, remember to log into the library proxy network before navigating to the resources you want to use.


Registering for a QxMD Account

In order to use the app, you must have a QxMD account.  To create a QxMD account, follow the instructions below: 

  1. From the library homepage, click on the link to Read by QxMD found in the center of the page underneath the Search Everything... box.
  2. On the Read by QxMD homepage, click on the Create Account button in the upper, right-hand corner of the page.
  3. Click on the Sign up with Email button.
  4. Fill out the registration form.
    • NOTE: You do NOT need to use your NYMC email address to create an account.  However, you will need your NYMC email address later to link your account with the library to gain access to full-text materials in QxMD Read.
  5. Once you've completed the registration form, the system will prompt you to fill out your profile, including which disciplines, journals, and keywords you want to follow.

NOTE: A QxMD account will serve as your account for both Read by QxMD and Calc by QxMD.


Installing the App for the First Time
  1. Go to the App Store/Google Play Store.
  2. Type Calculate by QxMD into the search box.
  3. Download the app to your phone.
    • NOTE: Make sure you have enough room on your phone before starting the download.
  4. Once the app is installed, click on the app's icon on your phone to access it.
  5. You will be prompted to log into the app using your personal account information.
  6. After you login, you will be able to use the app as needed.
    • NOTE: If you did not complete your profile when creating your account online, you will prompted to finish it here before moving on.
Loading ...