• American Psychiatric Association (APA)
The American Psychiatric Association is an organization of psychiatrists working together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental illness, including substance use disorders.
• American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN)
The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. (ABPN) is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to serving the public interest and the professions of psychiatry and neurology by promoting excellence in practice through certification and continuing certification processes.
• World Psychiatric Association (WPA)
The WPA is psychiatry’s global association representing 140 psychiatric societies in 120 countries and supporting more than 250,000 psychiatrists. With its 70 scientific sections, publications and educational programs, it promotes collaborative work in specialist areas of psychiatry.
• American Psychiatric Association - APA practice guidelines provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders and are intended to assist in clinical decision making by presenting systematically developed patient care strategies in a standardized format.
• American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry - For over 25 years, the AACAP Committee on Quality Issues (CQI) has been charged with the development of a series of documents intended to inform clinical practice in child and adolescent psychiatry. Over the next few years, the original series – known as Practice Parameters – will be phased out and replaced by two new series of documents – known as Clinical Updates and Clinical Practice Guidelines.
• DynaMed - Link to relevant, up-to-date national and international guidelines in each topic summary.
• PubMed - As shown in the following tutorial, you can use PubMed to search for guidelines related to your keywords. Don't forget to limit your search by publication date as well.
• Clinicaltrials.gov - registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.
• World Health Organization International Clinical Trials Registry Platform Search Portal - has information about ongoing and completed international clinical trials.
• IFPMA (International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers & Associations) Clinical Trials Portal - provides new and ongoing clinical trials of members' products.
• CDC: Mental Health Data & Statistics - Links to abundant mental health data and surveys including Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), Household Pulse Survey, National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (NAMCS), National Hospital Care Survey (NHCS), National Post-acute and Long-term Care Study (NPALS), National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH), National Survey of the Diagnosis and Treatment of ADHD and Tourette Syndrome (NS-DATA), National Violent Death Reporting System (NVDRS), National Post-acute and Long-term Care Study (NPALS), Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), School Health Policies and Programs Study (SHPPS), WISQARS™CDC’s WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System), and Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS).
• National Center for Health Statistics: Fast Stats - Selected statistics on a variety of health topics including the latest data in reports, databases, and other resources.
• CDC: Data and Statistics on Children's Mental Health - Fast facts and links to data for children's mental health.
• Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) - The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) provides access and the use of the nation's substance abuse and mental health research data through public use data files and documentation.
• The National Institute of Mental Health Data Archive (NDA) - The National Institute of Mental Health Data Archive (NDA) makes available human subjects data collected from hundreds of research projects across many scientific domains. De-identified human subjects data, harmonized to a common standard, are available to qualified researchers. Summary data are available to all.
• National Institute on Drug Abuse: Trends and Statistics - Information on drug use, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings.
• National Survey on Drug Use and Health - Up-to-date information on tobacco, alcohol, and drug use, mental health and other health-related issues in the United States.
• New York State: Office of Mental Health: Statistics and Reports - Behavioral and mental health community assessments, surveys and reports.
• Data-world - open data about mental health contributed by thousands of users and organizations across the world.
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) NACDA acquires, preserves, and shares data relevant to gerontological research.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism Alcohol Use and Consumption Tables - Epidemiological data from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAA).
National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health - at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
Wisconsin Longitudinal Study (WLS) is a long-term study of a random sample of 10,317 men and women who graduated from Wisconsin high schools in 1957. Survey data were collected from the original respondents or their parents in 1957, 1964, 1975, and 1992 and from a selected sibling in 1977 and 1994. The National Institute on Aging is supporting a new wave of interviews with graduates, siblings, spouses and widows during 2003-2004.
Our World in Data - Public online data resource spanning a range of topics.
• Google Dataset Search - Google's search engine for datasets.
The Capozzi Library offers users free access to the following news outlets.
To access full articles in the New York Times via the library:
1. Go to accessnyt.com
2. Search for and click the listing for New York Medical College
3. Choose Student or Staff (Students will enter their year of graduation and will have access until that date)
4. Click Create Account and complete registration fields. ***You must use an NYMC affiliated email address for this account.
After completing this process once, your login (with affiliated email address) will remember your library access, so you will be able to go to the NY Times directly and access by simply signing in to the Times account you created via NYMC.
To access full articles in the Wall Street Journal via the library:
1. Complete the WSJ registration form with your information: name, NYMC-affiliated email, status (student, staff, faculty), and create a password.
2. There will be several pages of questions designed to customize your content, which you can complete or skip depending on your preference.
3. Once you have gone through these pages, you will arrive at the home page of the Wall Street Journal and see your name in the top right corner.
Now you should be able to log in to the Wall Street Journal on any computer or via the app on any device using your account.
Before using any information you should critically evaluate source, especially if it is from a website. Consider:
Ask yourself whether the resource you found applies to your clinical question. To evaluate it, you can use the PICO framework:
| P | Patient/Problem | How would you describe a group of patients similar to yours? What are the most important characteristics of the patient? |
| I | Intervention/Exposure/Prognostic Factor | What main intervention are you considering? What do you want to do with this patient? |
| C | Comparison | What is the main alternative being considered, if any? |
| O | Outcome | What are you trying to accomplish, measure, improve or affect? |
Once you've chosen a resource to use in your research, you need to delve into the details of the article in order to figure out whether it's an applicable and reputable source. The resources listed below can help you with the critical appraisal process.
