Library Research Guides: EBM Resource Center: Resources for Acquiring Evidence

NYMC Library Databases for Acquiring Evidence

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a freely available database developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It contains citations for biomedical literature indexed in MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and electronic books.
Embase This link opens in a new window
For users looking for adverse drug events, drug efficacy studies, medical device and disease-related biomedical research information, Embase delivers immediate access to a range of intuitive search tools that help them find exact answers to their research questions quickly and easily.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Web of Science Core Collection includes over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 190,000 conference proceedings; and over 90,000 editorially selected books.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world’s best medical research studies, and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed publishes clinically-organized topics which are continuously updated as new information indicates a need for change in practice. DynaMed content ranges from comprehensive reviews of diseases, conditions, and abnormal findings to highly focused topics on evaluation, differential diagnosis, and management.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
For NYMC students and on-campus faculty ONLY.

Non-Library Services for Acquiring Evidence

ACCESSSS
ACCESSSS from McMaster PLUS™is a service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications). ACCESSSS also provides email alerts to newly published evidence in the user’s chosen area(s) of training/interest.
TRIP
TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip is is a one-stop resource for filtering high-quality evidence-based research.

EBM Apps

Note that some of the databases listed above (e.g. DynaMed and UpToDate) also have apps. See our apps guide here for more information.

AccessMedicine App Icon

FREE

For iOS and Android.

The Differential Diagnosis Tool in the AccessMedicine appprovides more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®, a McGraw-Hill Medical tool that efficiently allows you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.

American College of Physicians Guidelines App Icon

FREE

For iOS and Android.

Available for free, the ACP Clinical Guidelines app includes recommendations from ACP’s clinical practice guidelines and guidance statements.

AHRQ Prevention Taskforce App Icon

FREE

For iOS and Android.

The Prevention TaskForce app (formerly ePSS) was developed to assist primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Its information is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF).

EE + POEM Archive

FREE

For iOS and Android.

Essential Evidence Plus is the only evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries.

Medscape App

FREE with Registration

For iOS and Android.

Medscape offers the latest medical news and expert perspectives; point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME/CE. The Medscape app is designed to provide a personalized experience so that you can easily access what you need, when you need it.

Prognosis: Your Diagnosis App

FREE

For iOS and Android.

With Prognosis, you can improve your ability to diagnose and immediately manage key clinical presentations associated with a disease, having access to relevant facts and succinct explanations behind the underlying diagnostic and management rationale.