Library Research Guides: Transition to Clerkship Resources: Clerkship Resources

Clerkship Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's search interface for MEDLINE. This database is an index to over 5,000 current biomedical journals. Coverage is from the 1950s-present.
Embase This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Comprehensive biomedical database.
- What's included?
  Indexes journal articles and conference proceedings.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  A collection of six evidence based healthcare databases that help clinicians make treatment decisions about effective health care.
- What's included?
  Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, Health Technology Assessment Register, and Cochrane Methodology Register; over 700,000 published articles.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Provides access to 63 medical books, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
- What's included?
  Includes USMLE Easy, Harrison's Online Self Assessment and Board Review, Williams Obstetrics Study Guide, Hurst's Imaging Tests, and Self Assessment from Lange Educational Library.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  A quick medical reference system designed for use at the point of care.
- What's included?
  Contains clinically organized summaries of nearly 1,800 topics and is updated daily from review of the research literature; application for mobile devices.
LexiComp This link opens in a new window
Clinical applications include dosing, drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.

The above image is based on the EBM Page Generator (2006) from Dartmouth College and Yale University and the Coursera MOOC "Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics" (2016).