Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

Telemedicine

Research Databases

► PubMed 

The National Library of Medicine's search interface for MEDLINE. This database is an index to over 5,000 current biomedical journals. Coverage is from the 1950s-present. (View tutorials)

► Embase

Comprehensive biomedical database. Indexes journal articles and conference proceedings. (View tutorials)

CINAHL 

Journal Articles, Book Chapters, Dissertations & more relating to nursing, allied health, physical therapy, biomedicine, management, and consumer health.

► Health Business Elite

600+ full text journals and 100+ journals with abstracts, covering health care administration, health policy, health economics, and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.

► Health Policy Reference Center

This full-text database covers all aspects of health policy and related issues. It supports decision-making, planning and research in a variety of healthcare system areas.

 

To view our full collection of databases, browse the collection.

Bibliographies

The following bibliographies are not comprehensive. For research assistance, please contact a reference librarian. 

1. Telemedicine services thrive during Covid-19. Vet Rec. 2020;186(12):365.

2. Angel DM, Zeiger RS, Sicherer SH, Khan DA, Schatz M. JACI: In Practice Response to COVID-19 Pandemic. J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract. 2020.

3. Calton B, Abedini N, Fratkin M. Telemedicine in the Time of Coronavirus. J Pain Symptom Manage. 2020.

4. Chick RC, Clifton GT, Peace KM, et al. Using Technology to Maintain the Education of Residents During the COVID-19 Pandemic. J Surg Educ. 2020.

5. Deepak J, Subuhi K, Ishmeet K. WhatsApp messenger as a teledermatology tool during coronavirus disease (COVID-19): From Bedside to Phone-side. Clin Exp Dermatol. 2020.

6. Gadzinski AJ, Ellimoottil C, Odisho AY, Watts KL, Gore JL. Implementing Telemedicine in Response to the 2020 COVID-19 Pandemic. J Urol. 2020:101097ju0000000000001033.

7. Grange ES, Neil EJ, Stoffel M, et al. Responding to COVID-19: The UW Medicine Information Technology Services Experience. Appl Clin Inform. 2020;11(2):265-275.

8. Greenhalgh T, Koh GCH, Car J. Covid-19: a remote assessment in primary care. Bmj. 2020;368:m1182.

9. Greenhalgh T, Wherton J, Shaw S, Morrison C. Video consultations for covid-19. Bmj. 2020;368:m998.

10. Hollander JE, Carr BG. Virtually Perfect? Telemedicine for Covid-19. N Engl J Med. 2020.

11. Hong YR, Lawrence J, Williams D, Jr., Mainous Iii A. Population-Level Interest and Telehealth Capacity of US Hospitals in Response to COVID-19: Cross-Sectional Analysis of Google Search and National Hospital Survey Data. JMIR Public Health Surveill. 2020;6(2):e18961.

12. Huang S, Xiao Y, Yan L, et al. Implications for Online Management: Two Cases with COVID-19. Telemed J E Health. 2020.

13. Korr KS. On the Front Lines of Primary Care during the Coronavirus Pandemic Shifting from office visits to telephone triage, telemedicine. R I Med J (2013). 2020;103(3):9-10.

14. Lenert L, McSwain BY. Balancing Health Privacy, Health Information Exchange and Research in the Context of the COVID-19 Pandemic. J Am Med Inform Assoc. 2020.

15. Nagata JM. Rapid Scale-Up of Telehealth during the COVID-19 Pandemic and Implications for Subspecialty Care in Rural Areas. J Rural Health. 2020.

16. Ohannessian R, Duong TA, Odone A. Global Telemedicine Implementation and Integration Within Health Systems to Fight the COVID-19 Pandemic: A Call to Action. JMIR Public Health Surveill. 2020;6(2):e18810.

17. Portnoy J, Waller M, Elliott T. Telemedicine in the Era of COVID-19. J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract. 2020.

18. Reeves JJ, Hollandsworth HM, Torriani FJ, et al. Rapid Response to COVID-19: Health Informatics Support for Outbreak Management in an Academic Health System. J Am Med Inform Assoc. 2020.

19. Rockwell KL, Gilroy AS. Incorporating telemedicine as part of COVID-19 outbreak response systems. Am J Manag Care. 2020;26(4):147-148.

20. Shanthanna H, Strand NH, Provenzano DA, et al. Caring for patients with pain during the COVID-19 pandemic: Consensus recommendations from an international expert panel. Anaesthesia. 2020.

21. Smith AC, Thomas E, Snoswell CL, et al. Telehealth for global emergencies: Implications for coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). J Telemed Telecare. 2020:1357633x20916567.

22. Villani A, Scalvenzi M, Fabbrocini G. Teledermatology: a useful tool to fight COVID-19. J Dermatolog Treat. 2020:1-3.

23. Zhou X, Snoswell CL, Harding LE, et al. The Role of Telehealth in Reducing the Mental Health Burden from COVID-19. Telemed J E Health. 2020.

1. Asad H, Kanwar T. "But Dr Google said…" - Training medical students how to communicate with E-patients(). Med Teach. 2019;41(6):690.

2. Chick RC, Clifton GT, Peace KM, et al. Using Technology to Maintain the Education of Residents During the COVID-19 Pandemic. J Surg Educ. 2020.

3. Dannenberg KA, Stroben F, Schröder T, Thomas A, Hautz WE. The future of practical skills in undergraduate medical education - an explorative Delphi-Study. GMS J Med Educ. 2016;33(4):Doc62.

4. Doarn CR, Dorogi A, Tikhtman R, Pallerla H, Vonder Meulen MB. Opinions on the Role of Telehealth in a Large Midwest Academic Health Center: A Case Study. Telemedicine and E-Health. 2019;25(12):1250-1261.

5. Dorigatti AE, Pereira BMT, Simões RL, Matsuguma JR, Calderan TRA, Fraga GP. In-person and telemedicine course models for disaster preparedness: a comparative analysis. Rev Col Bras Cir. 2018;45(3):e1710.

6. Edirippulige S, Armfield NR. Education and training to support the use of clinical telehealth: A review of the literature. J Telemed Telecare. 2017;23(2):273-282.

7. Edirippulige S, Samanta M, Armfield NR. Assessment of Self-Perceived Knowledge in e-Health Among Undergraduate Students. Telemed J E Health. 2018;24(2):139-144.

8. Fernando J, Lindley J. Lessons learned from piloting mHealth informatics practice curriculum into a medical elective. J Am Med Inform Assoc. 2018;25(4):380-384.

9. Hege I, Kononowicz AA, Kiesewetter J, Foster-Johnson L. Uncovering the relation between clinical reasoning and diagnostic accuracy - An analysis of learner's clinical reasoning processes in virtual patients. PLoS One. 2018;13(10):e0204900.

10. Jonas CE, Durning SJ, Zebrowski C, Cimino F. An Interdisciplinary, Multi-Institution Telehealth Course for Third-Year Medical Students. Acad Med. 2019;94(6):833-837.

11. Kuhn S, Jungmann F. [Medicine in the digital age : Telemedicine in medical school education]. Radiologe. 2018;58(3):236-240.

12. Mian A, Khan S. Medical education during pandemics: a UK perspective. In: BMC Med. Vol 18.2020:100.

13. Palmer RT, Biagioli FE, Mujcic J, Schneider BN, Spires L, Dodson LG. The feasibility and acceptability of administering a telemedicine objective structured clinical exam as a solution for providing equivalent education to remote and rural learners. Rural Remote Health. 2015;15(4):3399.

14. Pathipati AS, Azad TD, Jethwani K. Telemedical Education: Training Digital Natives in Telemedicine. J Med Internet Res. 2016;18(7):e193.

15. Rienits H, Teuss G, Bonney A. Teaching telehealth consultation skills. Clin Teach. 2016;13(2):119-123.

16. Young JD, Abdel-Massih R, Herchline T, et al. Infectious Diseases Society of America Position Statement on Telehealth and Telemedicine as Applied to the Practice of Infectious Diseases. Clinical Infectious Diseases. 2019;68(9):1437-1443.

Journals in Telemedicine

Remote Access

When logging onto the library remotely via OpenAthens, remember that there is no longer one single place to login. Rather, the system will prompt you to log in when you try to access one of our resources and remember you for the rest of your browser session.

How you log in via OpenAthens is dependent on whether or not you have TouroOne credentials. Below are instructions for both cases.

OpenAthens Login Choices

1. Once you click onto one of our eResources, you will be presented with an OpenAthens login screen that looks like this:

OpenAthens Login Screen - Select TouroOne Credentials Option

2. Click on the “With your TouroOne credentials” option.

3. The system will redirect to the TouroOne login screen.

4. Use your network ID and password to login.

  • If you are using your own computer, remember to click on the “Remember me for 30 days” checkbox so that you don’t have to go through Duo Security every time.

TouroOne Login Screen 

5. Upon successfully logging in, you will be redirected to the eResource you wanted to access.

1. Once you click onto one of our eResources, you will be presented with an OpenAthens login screen that looks like this:

OpenAthens Login Screen - Select NYMC Library Account Option

2. Click on the “NYMC Library Account” option.

3. The system will redirect to the library account login screen.

Library Account Login Screen

4. Use your library username and password to login.

5. Upon successfully logging in, you will be redirected to the eResource you wanted to access.