Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

EndNote Desktop

References

Creating a Reference Manually

  1. Click on the References tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Select the “New Reference” option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Use the drop-down menu to select the appropriate reference type.
    • NOTE: The drop-down menu will usually default to the last reference type used.
  4. Fill out the appropriate fields with as much information as you have.
  5. Click Control+S (Command+S on Mac) to save your changes.

Editing a Reference

  1. Double click on the reference you want to add an attachment to to open up its record summary in the right sidebar.
  2. Click on the Edit tab at the top of the right sidebar.
  3. Edit the appropriate field(s).
  4. Click on the Save button.
    • NOTE: Once you modify a record and exit EndNote Desktop, there is no way of undoing your edits. You will have to delete the edited record and reimport it.

Deleting a Reference

  1. Right click on the reference you want to delete.
  2. Select the “Move References to Trash” option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click on the Trash tab in the left sidebar.
  4. Click on the garbage can icon with an X in the upper right corner to empty the trash.
  5. Click on the Yes button to confirm your choice.

Adding an Attachment

  1. Double click on the reference you want to add an attachment to to open up its record summary in the right sidebar.
  2. Click on the “Attach file” button. 
  3. Select the file you want to attach.
  4. Click on the Open button.

Annotating an Attachment

EndNote Desktop Attachment Screen

  1. Double click on the reference you want to add an attachment to to open up its record summary in the right sidebar.
  2. Click on the file name at the top of the sidebar.
  3. Select the Open option from the drop-down menu.
  4. Click on the text bubble icon (third from the left in the top row) in the pop-window toolbar.
  5. Use the secondary toolbar that pops up underneath the first to annotate your document. You can do the following in EndNote Desktop:
    • Read: note that you don’t need to have an internet connection to read PDFs in EndNote Desktop
    • Highlight/Underline/Strikethrough: you have eight preset colors and an other option to choose your own in case you want to color-code different ideas/sections
    • Notes: you can write create notes that pop up when you click on their icon
  6. When you’re done annotating, remember to save your changes by clicking on the floppy disk icon (third from the right in the top row).

Adding a Figure

NOTE: The ‘Attach Figure’ feature enables the attachment of an image, a chart, or a table into the ‘Figure’ field for citing using CWYW.

  1. Select the reference you want to add a figure to.
  2. Click on the References tab in the main toolbar.
  3. Select the Figure option from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select the “Attach Figure…” option from the side menu.
  5. Click on the “Choose File…” button.
  6. Select the figure file you want to attach.
  7. Click on the Attach button.

Setting Your Preferences

EndNote Desktop Full-Text Preferences Screen

  1. Click on the EndNote 20 tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Select the Preferences option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Copy the link below into both the “OpenURL Path: and “Authenticate with: URL:” boxes: https://imageserver.ebscohost.com/branding/s9001925/FullTextFinder.html.
  4. Click on the Save button.

Finding Full-Text

  1. Highlight the references that you want to find full-text for.
  2. Click on the References tab in the main toolbar.
  3. Select the “Find Full Text” option from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select the “Find Full Text…” option from the side menu.
  5. If this is the first time you’re searching for full-text after opening EndNote Desktop, the system will ask you to authenticate using your institution’s sign-on system.
    • NOTE: You need to set up your institution’s authentication method in your preferences before you can access your library’s full-text holdings. 
  6. The Find Full text menu will activate in the lower left sidebar. Click on the drop-down arrow to view the results. 
    • The system will automatically attach the article PDFs it finds to the appropriate references. Double click on a reference to view the associated PDF. 
    • The system will add found URLs as links to the full-text files in the references’ Summary tab in the right sidebar.

Groups

  1. Click on the Groups tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Select the “Create Group” option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Give your group a unique, descriptive name.

"Group sets" are headings for one or more groups. To create a Group Set:

  1. Click on the Groups tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Select the “Create Group Set” option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Give your group set a unique, descriptive name.
  4. You can then drag existing groups into or create new groups in the group set.

NOTE: If your Endnote Desktop library is synced to Endnote Online, Groups Set headings will not appear in Endnote Online. The groups will appear in Endnote Online as individual groups. 

NOTE: In order to share groups, you must have synced your EndNote Desktop account to EndNote Online, and your collaborator(s) must have EndNote Online accounts. See more information under Sharing & Collaborating. 

  1. Right click on the group you want to share in the left sidebar.
  2. Select the “Share Group…” option from the drop-down menu.
  3. In the first “Invite More People” text box, type in the email addresses of your collaborator(s).
  4. Choose their permission level (e.g. Read Only or Read & Write) from the drop-down menu.
  5. In the second “Invite More People” text box, type in a message letting your collaborators know what the group is for.
  6. Click on the Invite button.
  7. The system will send an email to your collaborator(s) letting them know that you’ve shared a group with them.
  8. Collaborators will have to open the link in the email to see the group in their online accounts and then sync their online and desktop accounts.

Output Styles

NOTE: If you can’t find a specific citation style, you can always check the EndNote website to see if you can download it from there. 

  1. Go to https://www.endnote.com/downloads/styles/.
  2. Type the name of the style you want in the search box.
  3. Click the Search button.
  4. Click on the Download link next to the style you want.
  5. Open the file you just downloaded.
    • NOTE: It should open automatically using EndNote, but if it doesn’t you can right click and use the “Open with” option to select EndNote.
  6. Click on the File tab in the main toolbar.
  7. Select the “Save As…” option from the drop-down menu.
  8. Input the style name in the text box.
  9. Click the Save button.
  10. Click on the Tools tab in the main toolbar.
  11. Select the “Output Styles” option from the drop-down menu.
  12. Select the “Open Style Manager…” option from the side menu.
  13. Type your style’s name in the text box and hit enter.
  14. Click on the check box to add the style to your Favorites.
  1. Click on the Tools tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Select the “Output Styles” option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select the “Open Style Manager…” option from the side menu.
  4. Type the name of the style you want to modify in the text box and hit enter.
  5. Double click on the style name in the results list to open the style record.
  6. Click on the File tab in the main toolbar.
  7. Select the “Save As…” option from the drop-down menu.
  8. Give your style a unique name.
  9. Modify the appropriate field(s).
    • NOTE: To truly customize a style, you have to account for all of the iterations associated with the different resource types (e.g. books, articles, etc.). To do this, you need to repeat your modification process for all of the templates under Citations and Bibliography in the left sidebar.
  10. Click on the File tab in the main toolbar.
  11. Select the “Save” option from the drop-down menu.
  12. Click on the Tools tab in the main toolbar.
  13. Select the “Output Styles” option from the drop-down menu.
  14. Select the “Open Style Manager…” option from the side menu.
  15. Type your style’s name in the text box and hit enter.
  16. Click on the check box to add the style to your Favorites.

Endnote's JAMA style automatically formats your bibliography with a large space appearing between the number and the first author's name, for example:

1.    Beall J. Dangerous Predatory Publishers Threaten Medical Research. J Korean Med Sci. Oct 2016;31(10):1511-3. doi:10.3346/jkms.2016.31.10.1511

 

There are two options for correcting the style so that the space does not appear:

Option A: Modify the JAMA style:

1. Click on Output Styles>Open Style Manager, and highlight JAMA. Click Edit. 

2. A new window will appear. In the left-hand column of the window, find the section Bibliography. Under Bibliography, select Layout. Be sure you are not selecting layout from the wrong section. 

3. In the top portion of the screen, you will see the box "Start Each Reference With" 

4. Edit this box by placing your cursor in the gray box and backspace to remove the → symbol. Then, press the space key once so that there is a space between the period and where you leave your cursor. 

5. For the bottom of the portion of screen, "End Each Reference With," place your cursor in the gray box. Then, click on the drop down  Insert Field. Click on End of Paragraph. A paragraph symbol will appear in the gray box. The edits should look like this:

6. Save your changes. Click File, Save As. You must rename the style.

7. In your Word document, click Update Citations and Bibliography. Then, select the new style to apply to your Word document. 

Option B: Add the corrected style to your output style manager:

1. Download the file below titled AMA 12 Corrected. 

2. Find the download in your computer's Downloads foler. Double click on the download so that it opens in EndNote. 

3. The file should have opened in EndNote's style editor. Save the style by clicking File>Save.

4. Now the new style should appear in your Output Styles Manager. Make sure the style is checked off in the Output Style Manager so that it appears in your style options. 

The file for the proper GSBMS Thesis Style is found below along with these simple instructions to customize it to your Endnote library.

For PC 

  1. Download the .ens file "GSBMS Thesis Style" (found below)
  2. Go to your downloads and double-click this style file. It should open in EndNote.
  3. In EndNote, click “File Menu” (top tab) and choose “Save as”. Remove the word “copy” and click “Save”.
  4. Click on “File Menu” and choose “Close Style”.
  5. You should now be able to find it in your list of available styles in your Style Manager.
    1. Under Tools > Output Styles > Open Style Manager

For Mac 

  1. Have your EndNote Desktop program open
  2. Download the .ens file for the GSBMS Thesis Style (found below)
  3. Double click on the file
  4. Go to your EndNote library
  5. Under Tools > Output Styles > Open Style Manager
  6. You will then see the proper style that you customized for your EndNote Library

Syncing your Desktop and Online Accounts

  1. Click on the “Sync Configuration” tab in the right sidebar.
  2. EndNote will ask you to log into your EndNote Online account and will sync your desktop and online libraries once you do so.
    • NOTE: Every time you make changes to your desktop library, it will ask you to sync with your online library before closing the application.
    • NOTE: You should only sync one desktop library with your online account or else the references from multiple libraries will mix in your online account and possibly sync back down into libraries where they don’t belong.

Sharing & Collaborating

To collaborate with other EndNote users within a shared EndNote group or library, you must first sync your EndNote Desktop library to an EndNote Online account. EndNote Online is the web version of EndNote. Use your NYMC affiliated email address to register for an Endnote Online account here

To sync: 

  1. In EndNote Desktop, Click on the “Sync Configuration” tab in the right sidebar, or click on Library>Sync.
  2. EndNote will ask you to log into your EndNote Online account and will sync your desktop and online libraries once you do so.
    • NOTE: Every time you make changes to your desktop library, it will ask you to sync with your online library before closing the application.
    • NOTE: You should only sync one desktop library with your online account or else the references from multiple libraries will mix in your online account and possibly sync back down into libraries where they don’t belong.

Share a Group from Endnote Desktop:

1. Follow the instructions for syncing your EndNote Desktop library to EndNote Online. 

2. Right click on the Group you would like to share. NOTE: Group Sets cannot be shared, only Groups. 

3. Enter the email address of the invited sharees. Use the drop-down menu to select the user's sharing privileges to Read only (where they can view and cite the references) or Read & Write (where they can also make edits to the references, add, and delete references). To edit an invited user's sharing privileges or to stop sharing with them, click the cog icon next to their email address. 

4. The invited users will receive an email notification that a group has been shared with them. Sharees must have an EndNote Online account set up to view the group. If they don't have an account, they will be prompted to create one in the invitation email. 

4. So long as you regularly update your sync configuration, you will be able to view changes made by other users to the shared group from your EndNote Desktop screen. 

NOTE: Sharing a group will not transfer pdf attachments or notes to the sharees.

NOTE: Sharees will be able to work with the references from within EndNote Online only. The shared group will appear in their EndNote Desktop account under Groups Shared by Others

 

View Groups Shared By Others:

1. To view a Group that another user has shared with you, find the drop-down on the left-hand navigation column in EndNote Desktop called Groups Shared by Others

2. Double click on the email address of the group's owner. This will open the group in EndNote Online. You can also find the group listed among your EndNote Online groups by logging in to your EndNote Online directly from the web. 

 

Share From EndNote Online:

1. When your EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online accounts are synced, all of your EndNote groups will appear in your EndNote Online account as well as EndNote Desktop. You can share a group from the EndNote Online interface by selecting Organize>Manage My Groups.

2. Click the Manage Sharing button next to the group you would like to share. 

3. Click Start Sharing This Group. 

4. Enter the email addresses of invited users and click Apply. Note you can select sharing privileges Read Only (where sharees can view and cite the references) or Read & Write (where they can also make edits to the references, add, and delete references).

NOTE: This is also a good method if you prefer not to sync your EndNote Desktop Library to EndNote Online. So long as you have groups in EndNote Online, you can share them regardless of whether EndNote Online is synced to your EndNote Desktop account. 

Sharing your EndNote Desktop Library will allow you to collaborate with your colleagues using the EndNote Desktop interface - including giving sharees access to all groups, pdf file attachments, and notes. 

1. Follow the instructions for syncing your EndNote Desktop library to EndNote Online. 

2. It is recommended that you save a back-up copy of your library before sharing it with others. Save a copy of the library by clicking on File>Save A Copy (Windows); Endnote>Save A Copy (Mac). You may want to add the date to the file name. 

3. To share the library, Click File>Share (Windows); EndNote>Share (Mac). 

4. Enter the email address of the invited sharees. Use the drop-down menu to select the user's sharing privileges to Read only (where they can view and cite the references) or Read & Write (where they can also make edits to the references, add, and delete references). To edit an invited user's sharing privileges or to stop sharing with them, click the cog icon next to their email address. 

4. The invited users will receive an email notification that a library has been shared with them.

NOTE: EndNote library sharees must have EndNote Desktop version 20, and an online account synced to share the library. If they don't have an EndNote Online account, they will be prompted to create one in the invitation email. 

You can save your complete library (the filename.enl file as well as its associated .Data folder and all of its contents) to a single compressed filename.enlx file in order to easily back up your library or send a copy to a colleague. Later, you can easily restore (unzip) the compressed library with EndNote. NOTE: This will only work if everyone is using EndNote X or later.

To save to a compressed library file:

  1. Open the library in EndNote.
  2. EndNote X/X1: from the "File" menu, select "Send to" and then "Compressed Library".
    EndNote X2 and later: from the "File" menu, select "Compressed Library (.enlx)" and then "Create".
  3. Use the file dialog to save to an EndNote Compressed Library (filename.enlx).

To restore a compressed library file:

  1. Use EndNote X or later to open the filename.enlx file, which will extract the .ENL file and the .Data folder to
    the same folder where the .enlx file is located.
  2. Use EndNote to open the filename.enl file as you normally would to use the library.

NOTE: EndNote libraries larger than 4 gigabytes or 65,535 files cannot be compressed with EndNote’s Compressed Library command.

From: https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-Moving-backing-up-or-transferring-libraries-to-another-computer?language=en_US 

Send a Group or a selection of references to a collegue.

Export the References from EndNote:

  1. Click on Tools>Output Styles>Open Style Manager.
  2. Be sure the RefMan RIS Export style is checked.
  3. Highlight the references you want to export.
  4. Click on the File tab in the main toolbar.
  5. Select the “Export…” option from the drop-down menu.
  6. Select the folder where you want to store the export file.
  7. Select the “Text Only” option from the “Save file as type:” drop-down menu.
  8. Select the “RefMan (RIS) Export” option from the “Output Style:” drop-down menu.
    • NOTE: If you don’t see the style mentioned above listed, you can select “Select Another Style…” from the drop-down menu and use the search function to find and select it.
  9. Click on the Save button.
  10. Send the file as an attachment to your colleague. 
  11. The recipient of the file will import the file to EndNote or another citation management software as an RIS import.