Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

EndNote Desktop

Word's Cite While You Write (CWYW) Functions

EndNote CWYW Word Toolbar

  1. Click on the "Insert Citations" button.
  2. Enter the search terms (keywords or author names) of the reference(s) you are looking for.
  3. Select the reference(s) you want to insert.
  4. Click the Insert button.
    • NOTE: If you want to exclude the author or year, click on the drop-down arrow next to the Insert button and select how you want the reference(s) to be inserted from the drop-down options.

NOTE: When editing a citation, you have to use the CWYW plugin's "Edit Citation" function. Do NOT edit the citation directly in the Word document.  

  1. Right click on the in-text citation that you want to add page numbers to.
  2. Click on the "Edit Citation(s)" option from the pop-up menu.
  3. Click on the "More…" option in the sub pop-up menu.
  4. Add the page numbers in the Pages section of the "Edit Citation" section.
  5. Click the OK button.

EndNote CWYW Edit Citation Screen

  • Once you add an in-text citation to your document, Cite While You WriteTM will automatically start generating a bibliography at the end of your document.

Configuring Your Bibliography

NOTE: When formatting your bibliography, you have to use the CWYW plugin's "Configure Bibliography" function. Do NOT edit the bibliography directly in the Word document.  

  1. Click on the tiny arrow icon at the bottom of the Bibliography section.
  2. The style and document you are working with will be displayed in the "Format Bibliography" tab of the "EndNote Configure Bibliography" pop-up window.
  3. Click on the Layout tab.
  4. Edit the appropriate fields.
  5. Click the OK button.
    • NOTE: You are responsible for adhering to the rules of a particular style, so you need to be aware of what exactly you change in the Layout section and how it affects your adherence to the style’s rules.

EndNote CWYW Configure Bibliography Screen

  1. Click on the Style drop-down menu.
  2. If the style isn't in your recent styles, click on the "Select Other Style" option.
  3. Click on the appropriate style and click the OK button.

Choosing which Version of EndNote Cite While You Write (CWYW) Uses

NOTE: This only applies if you have an EndNote Online account that you’ve synced with EndNote Desktop.

  1. Open a Word document and then navigate back to EndNote Desktop.
  2. In EndNote Desktop, click on the Tools tab in the main toolbar.
  3. Select the “Cite While You Write [CWYW]” option from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select the “CWYW Preferences…” option from the sub-menu.
  5. Click on the Application tab in the new pop-up window.
  6. Select the EndNote software you want CWYW to use using the radio buttons.
  7. Click the OK button.