Skip to main content
Ask a Librarian | Contact Us | Suggestions | NYMC | Give to HSL

Health Sciences Library Policies and Procedures

Collection Development

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT MANUAL

The Collection Development Manual of the Health Sciences Library (HSL) is intended to provide clear and complete guidelines for the library staff and constituents as appropriate in the selection and deselection of biomedical and public health materials regardless of format. A transparent and systematic selection and de-selection plan of biomedical and public health materials is presented to facilitate effective collection management and development.

Recommendations for Purchase

The Health Sciences Library welcomes recommendations of book, journal or media titles that support the educational programs of New York Medical College.  There are several ways to make suggestions:

  1. Use the Library Catalog, NYMCat. Log into NYMCat. On the left side, you will see several tabs. Click on Your Purchase Suggestions. Then click on New Purchase Suggestions. Fill out the form.
  2. Place an ebook request through the R2 eBook portal. R2 books become inaccessible after 3 uses. When a book is no longer accessible you will see the following message: 

This title is being considered for purchase by the library and is currently not accessible. Please click here to contact your library administrator for more information. The information for this title will be automatically included in your message.

Click on the link provided and follow the instructions to make your request.

If neither of the two methods above work, send an email to our Collection Management Librarian, Danielle Aloia: daloia@nymc.edu or email your department’s librarian liaison.  Find the list of liaisons here.

Donations

Gifts are accepted if appropriate in scope and/or currency. The Health Sciences Library reserves the right to decline unneeded items. Gifts are acknowledged by a letter, no evaluation for tax purposes. Contact Danielle Aloia by phone: (914) 594-3172 or by email: daloia@nymc.edu.

Faculty Bibliography

With over 150 years behind us, New York Medical College continues to celebrate the scholarly achievements of our published faculty. New York Medical College has moved to a calendar year publication along with our Touro colleagues. The links to the combined bibliographies are on the left. NYMC will continue the tradition of our own celebration -- and we have moved to a late summertime event.

For more information on the Faculty Bibliography policies and procedures, check out our libguide here.

Follow nymclibrary on Facebook Follow nymclibrary on Twitter NYMCat Account | Staff | Suggestions | Touro Libraries © Health Sciences Library
New York Medical College
15 Dana Rd., Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel. (914) 594 4200