In addition to its physical collection, the Health Sciences Library has an extensive collection of ebooks which you can access remotely. The instructions below will guide you through searching the Library's ebook collection. If you have any difficulty accessing a particular volume, please Ask A Librarian for assistance.
Note that biographies of particular individuals are not the only source of reliable information. Histories of particular specialties will also contain reliable biographical information about major figures in that specialty. For example, if the subject of your course paper is Sigmund Freud, histories of psychiatry and psychoanalysis will be sources of reliable information, and if the subject of your course paper is Walter Reed, histories of tropical medicine and public health will be worth consulting.
Some basic recommendations for searching for biographical information in NYMCat. For instance, if you were doing your paper on Sigmund Freud:
Use this box to find books and ebooks in the Health Sciences Library collection.
Search NYMCat
Note that many of the books listed below begin with the call number "WZ." Browsing in these areas is recommended! The books may be downstairs in our "Main Collection," around the stairwell in "Medical Classics," in "Reference," or at the Access Services Desk in "Reserve."
The Medical Millennium by 
African-American Medical Pioneers by 
Medical Mavericks by 
Biographical Dictionary of American Physicians of African Ancestry, 1800-1920 by 
A Bibliography of Medical and Biomedical Biography by 
Dictionary of Medical Biography by Search for eBooks in the eBooks Portal. Use the dropdown menu next to the search box to indicate "Title Contains All Words," and enter the name of the historical figure.
Searching the name directly in our eBook Central database will allow you to refine your search, and may produce more results because this database searches inside the text of its eBooks.
Locating Medical History: The Stories and Their Meanings by 
The History of American Homeopathy: From Rational Medicine to Holistic Health Care by 
Tropical Medicine: An Illustrated History of The Pioneers by 
Women and Science, 17th Century to Present: Pioneers, Activists and Protagonists by 
NOTICE OF NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY AS TO STUDENTS
The New York Medical College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the college. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs. See full non-discrimination statement with contact info.
