Library Research Guides: Health Behavior &amp; Community Health: Find Journals & Journal Articles

Core Research Databases

Because the literature of Health Behavior and Community Health includes research from a variety of fields, you will likely utilize a variety of potentially useful bibliographic databases in your studies. The databases below are suggested:

PubMed
A broad database of biomedical literature; useful for finding journal articles.

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Because many nurses and other allied health professionals do public health resarch and conduct health promotion interventions, this is a useful database to supplement your PubMed search results.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine that provides a way to broadly search the internet for scholarly literature from many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text publications, including peer-reviewed titles, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. 1945 to present (full text); 1945 to present (abstracting and indexing).
Embase This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Comprehensive biomedical database.
- What's included?
  Indexes journal articles and conference proceedings.

Selected Journals

This is only a selection of journals available at the library. To search our entire journal collection, both print and electronic, use NYMCat. If you are only looking for eJournals, use our eJournal portal.

American Journal of Epidemiology
Empirical research findings, opinion pieces, and methodological developments in the field of epidemiologic research.
American Journal of Health Promotion
The American Journal of Health Promotion (AJHP) is a peer-reviewed journal advancing the science of health behavior change and the art of creating a culture of well-being.
American Journal of Public Health
Celebrating over 100 years, the American Journal of Public Health (AJPH) is dedicated to publication of original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health AJPH is the journal of the American Public Health Association (APHA).
Annual Review of Public Health
The Annual Review of Public Health, in publication since 1980, covers significant developments in the field of public health, including key developments and issues in epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice and policy.
Bulletin of the World Health Organization
The Bulletin of the World Health Organization is an international journal of public health with a special focus on developing countries.
Epidemiologic Reviews
Epidemiologic Reviews is a leading review journal in public health. Published once a year, issues collect review articles on a particular subject. Recent issues have focused on The Obesity Epidemic, Epidemiologic Research on Health Disparities, and Epidemiologic Approaches to Global Health.
Epidemiology
Epidemiology publishes original research from all fields of epidemiology, and review articles and meta-analyses, novel hypotheses, descriptions and applications of new methods, and discussions of research theory, health promotion, or public health policy.
Journal of Behavioral Health Services & Research
This journal examines the organization, financing, delivery and outcomes of behavioral health services (i.e., alcohol, drug abuse, and mental disorders), providing practical and empirical contributions to and explaining the implications for the broader behavioral health field.
Journal of Education and Health Promotion
Journal of Education and Health Promotion (JEHP) is an open-access peer-reviewed publication which functions under the leadership of and international editorial board from diverse disciplines such as medicine, medical education, statistics, psychology, nursing and midwifery, social work, public health and social medicine. With its interdisciplinary approach, the journal provides a platform for scientific debate among the scholars from scientific field in the realm of medicine and social sciences.
Journal of Social, Behavioral and Health Sciences
A peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal focusing on theoretically-based research that addresses contemporary national and international issues.
Lancet Global Health
Our focus is on disadvantaged populations, be they whole economic regions or marginalised groups within otherwise prosperous nations, with a preference for the following topics: reproductive, maternal, neonatal, child, and adolescent health; infectious diseases; non-communicable diseases; mental health; the global health workforce; health systems; surgery; and health policy.
Lancet Public Health
Open access title in The Lancet's growing family of specialty journals. Building on the foundation of The Lancet as a champion of public health research, this monthly journal is committed to publishing high-quality original Research Articles, Editorials, Comments, and Correspondence that contribute to advancing health equity, public health practice and policy making worldwide.
The Milbank Quarterly
Continuously published since 1923, The Milbank Quarterly is a multidisciplinary journal of population health and health policy. The Quarterly’s goal is to publish scholarly papers that illuminate and add new insights to our understanding of important policy issues involving health and health care.
MMWR: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
MMWR is the Centers for Disease Control's primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.

Health Behavior & Community Health

Library Director

Core Research Databases

Selected Journals