Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NYMC HSL Banner
Ask a Librarian

EndNote Online (Basic)

A General Note About Importing to/Using EndNote Basic (Web)

EndNote Online (Basic) depends on the database you’re using to provide the appropriate metadata in order to create a citation. Different databases have different levels of metadata and different ways of organizing their metadata, which is why choosing the correct source for the bibliographic files you import into EndNote Online (Basic) matters - unless you use Direct Export, in which case the system decides this step for you. 

Different databases also have different levels of quality for metadata, so if you’re finding that some databases don’t provide all the information you need for a complete citation, you can 1) look to see if you are choosing the correct source for importing, 2) look to see if the missing information is incorrectly living in a different field, or 3) provide the missing information yourself. 

Remember that in the end, you are responsible for the quality of your citations so make sure that they are complete and correct to the best of your ability. If you’re having trouble don’t hesitate to look at the physical or virtual style guides that we have at the library. You can also email, chat, or come talk to your librarians. We are here to help!

Importing References into EndNote Online (Basic)

  1. Select the references you want to export.
  2. Click the "Send to" button above the results list.
  3. Select "Citation manager" from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select "Selection (#)" from the Selection drop-down menu.
  5. Click the "Create File" button.
  6. In your EndNote Online (Basic) account, click on the Collect tab in the main toolbar.
  7. Select the "Import References" subtab.
  8. Click on the "Choose File" button and select the file that PubMed created for you.
  9. Select PubMed (NLM) from the "Import Option" drop-down menu.
  10. Select the folder where you want to store the reference from the "To" drop-down menu.
  11. Click the Import button.
  1. Select the references you want to export.
  2. Click on the "Export" link in the results section of the page (NOT the history section).
  3. Select RIS format (Mendeley, EndNote) from the "Choose a format" drop-down menu.
  4. Click the Export button.
  5. Click the Download button.
  6. In your EndNote Online (Basic) account, click on the Collect tab in the main toolbar.
  7. Select the "Import References" subtab.
  8. Click on the "Choose File" button and select the file that Embase created for you.
  9. Select RefMan RIS from the "Import Option" drop-down menu.
  10. Select the folder where you want to store the reference from the "To" drop-down menu.
  11. Click the Import button.
  1. Search an EBSCO database (CINAHL, Health Business Elite, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, etc.) or the HSL Discovery Search.
  2. Add the references you want to use by clicking on the folder icon next to each record.
  3. Click on the "Folder View" link in the right sidebar.
  4. Check the "Select / deselect all" checkbox.
  5. Click the Export link in the right sidebar.
  6. Click the "Direct Export to EndNote Web" button under the "Save citations to a file formatted for:" section on the right-hand side.
  7. Click the Save button.
    • NOTE: EndNote Online (Basic) will automatically put the references in the [Unfiled] group. If you want to import into a specific EndNote Online (Basic) folder, you can use the method below, which deviates from the method above after step 5:
    1. Click the "Direct Export in RIS Format" button under the "Save citations to a file formatted for:" section on the right-hand side.
    2. Click the Save button.
    3. In your EndNote Online (Basic) account, click on the Collect tab in the main toolbar.
    4. Select the "Import References" subtab.
    5. Click on the "Choose File button" and select the file that Embase created for you.
    6. Select RefMan RIS from the "Import Option" drop-down menu.
    7. Select the folder where you want to store the reference from the "To" drop-down menu.
    8. Click the Import button.
  1. When you find an item you want to use in the library catalog search results, click into that record.
  2. Click the "Save record" link in the right sidebar.
  3. Select RIS from the drop-down menu.
  4. In your EndNote Online (Basic) account, click on the Collect tab in the main toolbar.
  5. Select the "Import References" subtab.
  6. Click on the "Choose File" button and select the file that the catalog created for you.
  7. Select RefMan RIS from the "Import Option" drop-down menu.
  8. Select the folder where you want to store the reference from the "To" drop-down menu.
  9. Click the Import button.
  1. Select the references you want to import.
  2. Click on the "Export selected citation(s)" link at the top of the search results page.
  3. Click on the "RIS (EndNote)" link under the "Select the format you require from the list below" section.
  4. If you want the abstract for each reference, check off the "Include abstract" checkbox at the bottom of the window.
  5. Click the Download button.
  6. In your EndNote Online (Basic) account, click on the Collect tab in the main toolbar.
  7. Select the "Import References" subtab.
  8. Click on the "Choose File" button and select the file that Cochrane Library created for you.
  9. Select RefMan RIS from the "Import Option" drop-down menu.
  10. Select the folder where you want to store the reference from the "To" drop-down menu.
  11. Click the Import button.

NOTE: Google Scholar tends to have unreliable metadata, meaning that you probably have to do a lot of editing to make citations you get from there usable.

Setting Up

  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. Click on the menu icon next to the "My profile" icon in the upper, left-hand corner of the page.
  3. Click on the Settings section at the bottom of the menu.
  4. If the system does not automatically default to the "Search results" section of the settings, click on the "Search results" link in the left sidebar.
  5. Go to the "Bibliography manager" section and select EndNote from the drop-down menu for "Show links to import citations into."
  6. Click the Save button.
  7. Now the link will show up on the bottom, right side of the records in your search results list. 

Importing Your Result (Single Record)

  1. In your search results list, click on the "Import into EndNote" link on the bottom, right side of your chosen record.
  2. In your EndNote Online (Basic) account, click on the Collect tab in the main toolbar.
  3. Select the "Import References" subtab.
  4. Click on the "Choose File" button and select the file that Google Scholar created for you.
  5. Select EndNote Import from the "Import Option" drop-down menu.
  6. Select the folder where you want to store the reference from the "To" drop-down menu.
  7. Click the Import button.

Importing Your Results (Multiple Records)

NOTE: Like PubMed, Google Scholar’s export functionality for multiple records requires you to perform multiple steps. However, unlike PubMed, Google Scholar has no bulk select tool, so you will have to select each article you want manually.

Also note that before you begin this process for a new search, make sure you’ve cleared the results of your last search from your library. 

  1. Click on the star icon underneath the records you want to export.
  2. Click on the "My library" link in the upper, right-hand corner of the page.
  3. Click on the checkbox next to the records you want to export or click on the checkbox on the menu bar at the top of the page to select all records on a page.
  4. Click on the export icon (it looks like a download button) on the menu bar.
  5. Select the EndNote option from the drop-down menu.
  6. In your EndNote Online (Basic) account, click on the Collect tab in the main toolbar.
  7. Select the "Import References" subtab.
  8. Click on the "Choose File" button and select the file that Google Scholar created for you.
  9. Select EndNote Import from the "Import Option" drop-down menu.
  10. Select the folder where you want to store the reference from the "To" drop-down menu.
  11. Click the Import button.

Exporting References from EndNote Online (Basic)

  1. In your EndNote Online (Basic) account, click on the Format tab in the main toolbar.
  2. Click on the "Export References" option in the subtab.
  3. In the "References:" section, select the group you want to export from the drop-down menu.
  4. In the "Export style:" section, select how you want your references to be exported from the drop-down menu.
  5. Now you can choose one of three methods to get your bibliography:
    • Save: The system will create a bibliography file for you that will sit in your Downloads folder.
    • E-Mail: The system will prompt for an email address to send the file to.
    • Preview & Print: The system will generate a preview page, which you can use to check and then print your citations.